Democracy Now!

Season 2011 Episode 0711

Monday, July 11, 2011

0
Aired Unknown Jul 11, 2011 on Democracy Now!
N/A
out of 10
User Rating
0 votes

EPISODE REVIEWS
By TV.com Users

Write A Review

Episode Summary

EDIT
Monday, July 11, 2011
AIRED:
On the eve of the extradition hearing for WikiLeaks editor-in-chief Julian Assange in London, we spend an exclusive hour with David House, who co-founded the Bradley Manning Support Network after U.S. Army Private Manning was arrested for allegedly releasing classified U.S. military documents to WikiLeaks. House refused to testify last month in Alexandria, Virginia, before a grand jury hearing on WikiLeaks and the disclosure of thousands of classified U.S. diplomatic cables. Democracy Now! spoke to House at the Frontline Club in London about the significance of WikiLeaks, how he helped found the Bradley Manning Support Network, his visits with Manning at the Quantico Marine Base in Virginia, the federal surveillance he and his associates have come under, and his experience before the grand jury. “In my mind, this reeks of the Pentagon Papers investigation,” says House. “Richard Nixon’s [Department of Justice] 40 years ago attempted to curtail the freedoms of the press and politically regulate the press through the use of policy created around the espionage investigation of the New York Times. I feel the WikiLeaks case we have going on now provides Obama’s DOJ ample opportunity to continue this attempt to politically regulate the U.S. media.” [includes rush transcript]moreless
Tuesday
No results found.
Wednesday
No results found.
Thursday
No results found.

Episode Discussion

Join the discussion of this episode Episode Discussion

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions

See All Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions Trivia & Quotes

Season 2011 Episodes

See All
Ep 1230
Friday, December 30, 2011
Ep 1229
Thursday, December 29, ...
Ep 1228
Wednesday, December 28,...
Ep 1227
Tuesday, December 27, 2011
Ep 1226
Monday, December 26, 2011
Ep 1223
Friday, December 23, 2011
Ep 1222
Thursday, December 22, ...
Ep 1221
Wednesday, December 21,...
Ep 1220
Tuesday, December 20, 2011
Ep 1219
Monday, December 19, 2011
Ep 1216
Friday, December 16, 2011
Ep 1215
Thursday, December 15, ...
Ep 1214
Wednesday, December 14,...
Ep 1213
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Ep 1212
Monday, December 12, 2011
Ep 1209
Friday, December 9, 2011
Ep 1208
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Ep 1207
Wednesday, December 7, ...
Ep 1206
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Ep 1205
Monday, December 5, 2011
Ep 1202
Friday, December 2, 2011
Ep 1201
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Ep 1130
Wednesday, November 30,...
Ep 1129
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Ep 1128
Monday, November 28, 2011
Ep 1125
Friday, November 25, 2011
more