Democracy Now!

Season 2009 Episode 0615

Monday, June 15, 2009

0
Aired Unknown Jun 15, 2009 on Democracy Now!
N/A
out of 10
User Rating
0 votes

EPISODE REVIEWS
By TV.com Users

Write A Review

Episode Summary

EDIT
Monday, June 15, 2009
AIRED:
Iran remains in a state of turmoil after Friday’s much-anticipated elections ended in a result strongly disputed by opposition candidates and many thousands of their supporters. Today, Iranian officials refused to allow the leading opposition candidate Mir Hossein Mousavi and his supporters to hold a major rally protesting the re-election of President Ahmadinejad. Demonstrators began calling for the election to be canceled after the Interior Ministry announced that President Ahmadinejad had won over 62 percent of the vote. The official results gave Mousavi less than 34 percent of the vote. Heavily armed riot police have been cracking down on street protests that continued through the weekend. Early Monday morning, security forces raided a dormitory at Tehran University, injuring fifteen. Opposition websites report that over a hundred prominent opposition members were detained and then released over the weekend. We speak to Trita Parsi of the National Iranian American Council and David Makovsky, co-author with Dennis Ross of a new book called Myths, Illusions, and Peace. [includes rush transcript]moreless

Episode Discussion

Join the discussion of this episode Episode Discussion

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions

See All Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions Trivia & Quotes

Season 2009 Episodes

See All
Ep 1231
Thursday, December 31, ...
Ep 1230
Wednesday, December 30,...
Ep 1229
Tuesday, December 29, 2009
Ep 1228
Monday, December 28, 2009
Ep 1225
Friday, December 25, 2009
Ep 1224
Thursday, December 24, ...
Ep 1223
Wednesday, December 23,...
Ep 1222
Tuesday, December 22, 2009
Ep 1221
Monday, December 21, 2009
Ep 1218
Friday, December 18, 2009
Ep 1217
Thursday, December 17, ...
Ep 1216
Wednesday, December 16,...
Ep 1215
Tuesday, December 15, 2009
Ep 1214
Monday, December 14, 2009
Ep 1211
Friday, December 11, 2009
Ep 1210
Thursday, December 10, ...
Ep 1209
Wednesday, December 9, ...
Ep 1208
Tuesday, December 8, 2009
Ep 1207
Monday, December 7, 2009
Ep 1204
Friday, December 4, 2009
Ep 1203
Thursday, December 3, 2009
Ep 1202
Wednesday, December 2, ...
Ep 1201
Tuesday, December 1, 2009
Ep 1130
Monday, November 30, 2009
Ep 1127
Friday, November 27, 2009
Ep 1126
Thursday, November 26, ...
more