BBC (ended 2005)


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
6 votes

By Users

Write A Review

Show Summary

Ellen Devine lives in an apartment in Brentford, London in the United Kingdom, originally from Manhattan, New York City, United States of America. She is a woman who manages to get herself into some of the most impossible situations and is very feisty, witty, and on the ball – well most of the time, humorous and truly passionate. Ellen cannot find herself to commit in relationships but at the same time seeks out to find her one true love, never been one to express her feelings publicly. After being brought up from a very strict upbringing Ellen has always dreamed of becoming a school teacher, at the age of twenty-two Ellen achieved her dream and has now been teaching for over twenty years at the Brentford Green Junior School. Ellen Devine has never been lucky in love; she goes from one bad relationship to another. Her friends describe her as a jinx, the only person that knows Ellen through and through is her best friend Ian Baxter, Ellen and Ian have known each over for over 30 years and share a wonderfully open friendship. Nine seasons later, Ian begins to feel attracted to Ellen and that attraction soon became clear it was love. He eventually reveals his undying love for Ellen and she was knocked sideways and later felt the same passion – yes, they eventually tied the knot and got married, the pair now have a child named Mickey. But during the Tenth season, Ellen is struck by tragedy when she learns that Ian and her newborn baby were killed in an accident, Ellen struggled real hard to overcome this awful ordeal. Her friends and immediate family members supported her day by day and slowly she began to restore her life and continue with the rest of her life without her beloved husband and child. Devine premiered on Monday 25th March 1996 with an episode order of 23 for the first full season that followed in September 1996, and now well over 200 episodes have been released so far.moreless