Devious Maids

Lifetime (ended 2016)




  • Season 2 Episode 13: Look Back in Anger

  • Title: Look Back in Anger is a 1956 autobiographical play by John Osborne about a love triangle involving an intelligent and educated young man of working class origin, his upper-middle-class, impassive wife, and her haughty best friend.  The odd man out is an amiable Welshman who attempts to keep the peace.  In 1959, it was made into a film written by Nigel Neale and John Osborne and directed by Tony Richardson.

  • Season 2 Episode 12: Proof

  • Title: Proof a 2000 play by American playwright David Auburn. The play centers around the daughter of a recently deceased brilliant, but mentally disturbed, mathematician as she tries to deal with the fact that she might have inherited his insanity. In 2005, David adapted the play into a film that was directed by John Madden.

  • Season 2 Episode 11: You Can't Take It With You

  • Title: You Can't Take It with You is a 1936 comedic play by George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart about a man from a family of rich snobs who becomes engaged to a woman from a good natured but eccentric family.  It was adapted for film in 1938 and directed by Frank Capra.

  • Season 2 Episode 10: Long Day's Journey Into N...

  • Title: Long Day's Journey into Night is a semi-autobiographical drama written by American playwright Eugene O'Neill in 1941–42 but not published until 1956, three years after his death. There are representations of O'Neill, his older brother and his parents in the play. There were several film adaptations, the first one in 1962 directed by Sidney Lumet.

  • Season 2 Episode 9: The Visit

  • Title: The Visit is a tragic comedy play written by Swiss dramatist Friedrich Dürrenmatt, the original in German. The play premiered in Zurich in 1956. The play is about an extremely wealthy woman who returns to her hometown with a terrible bargain. Two of the themes are vengeance as justice and buying justice.

  • Season 2 Episode 8: Night, Mother

  • Title: 'night, Mother is a 1983 play by Marsha Norman about a daughter, Jessie, and her mother, Thelma. Jessie, an epileptic who lives with her mother, has come to decide that the state of her life is so deplorable that she plans to end her life before the morning. The two engage in back and forth dialogue with Thelma trying to talk Jessie out of killing herself. Marsha Norman adapted and wrote the screenplay for the 1986 movie with the same name. Both the Broadway play and the film were directed by Tom Moore. The play won the 1983 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and was nominated for four Tony Awards when it was on Broadway.

  • Season 2 Episode 7: Betrayal

  • Title: Betrayal is the 1983 film adaptation of Harold Pinter's 1978 play Betrayal. The film was produced by Sam Spiegel and directed by David Hugh Jones. Sequences of the film are shown in reverse chronological order. Pinter based the play on his seven year clandestine affair.

  • Season 2 Episode 6: Private Lives

  • Title: Private Lives is a 1930 American comedy by Noël Coward focusing on a divorced couple who, while honeymooning with their new spouses, discover that they are staying in adjacent rooms at the same hotel. Hanns Kräly and Richard Schayer wrote the screenplay for the 1931 movie based on the play, directed by Sidney Franklin.

  • Season 2 Episode 5: The Bad Seed

  • Title: The Bad Seed is a 1954 novel by William March that was adapted into a successful and long-running Broadway play by Maxwell Anderson and directed by Mervyn LeRoy. The two made the play into a movie in 1956 with the screenplay by John Lee Mahin. The story is based on the 8-year-old child, Rhoda, of Kenneth and Christine Penmark, who turns out to be a notorious liar and ruthless killer.

  • Season 2 Episode 4: Crimes of the Heart

  • Michael and Taylor Stappord are moving to Washington D.C. and plan to adopt a child.

  • Title: Crimes of the Heart is a play by Beth Henley that won the 1981 Pulitzer Prize and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award. Beth Henley wrote the screenplay for the 1986 movie, directed by Bruce Beresford. The story is about the joyous and troubling reunion of the three Magrath sisters who are awaiting the death of their grandfather who is living out his last hours in the local hospital.

  • Season 2 Episode 3: Dangerous Liaisons

  • Title: The Dangerous Liaisons is a 1782 novel (Les Liaisons Dangereuses) by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos that was published in four volumes. German playwright Heiner Müller adapted the story for the stage in 1981 followed by various other adaptations. In 1959, it was adapted for film by Claude Brulé (screenplay by Roger Vailland) and directed by Roger Vadim. It's also been adapted for television, radio, opera and ballet. A few famous adaptations include the 1989 film Valmont, the 1999 film Cruel Intentions and the 2012 film Dangerous Liaisons

  • Season 2 Episode 2: The Dark at the Top of th...

  • Title: The Dark at the Top of the Stairs is a 1957 play by William Inge about family conflicts during the early 1920s in a small Oklahoma town. It was nominated for a 'Tony Award for Best Play' in 1958 and was made into a film in 1960. The screenplay was written by Irving Ravetch and Harriet Frank Jr., directed by Delbert Mann.

  • Season 2 Episode 1: An Ideal Husband

  • Title: An Ideal Husband is an 1895 comedic stage play by Oscar Wilde which orbits around blackmail, political corruption and themes of public and private honor. Lajos Biró wrote the screenplay for the 1947 movie of the play and was directed by Alexander Kord. Oliver Parker wrote the screenplay and directed a 1999 movie of the play.

No results found.
No results found.

More Info About This Show


Comedy, Drama