Doctor Who Forums

Saturday 8:00 PM on BBC AmericaIn Season

How many companions have died?

SlidingKat

[1]May 8, 2008
    • level: 5

How many companions has the Doctor had? (Please provide names I'm new to this.)

How many have died?

If they didn't die why did they leave (i.e. was it voluntary)?

Thanks,

Katie

Edited on 05/08/2008 9:38am
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

Leongreat

[2]May 8, 2008
    • level: 3

How many companions has the Doctor had? 37 at last count. Check wikifor names (there are too many)

How many have died? 5

If they didn't die why did they leave (i.e. was it voluntary)? Most of them ere voluntary

steamheaduk

[3]May 8, 2008
    • level: 19

I guess some of this is also subjective, in how you classify someone as a companion or not.

For example, some class The Brigadier as NOT being a companion, since he didn't regularly travel in the TARDIS, despite the fact he was in every episode for two seasons straight, in most episodes for the next season and recurring after that, and he did eventually travel in the TARDIS in Mawdryn Undead. He's also the ONLY character to have appeared on screen with EVERY Doctor up to 7. Doctors 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 in their regular episodes. Doctor 1 and 1b in The Three Doctors and The Five Doctors, and Doctor 6 in Dimensions in Time.

Whereas Liz Shaw IS largely counted as a companion, despite the fact she was only in it for one season, during which the TARDIS was in pieces and the furthest it travelled was to a rubbish heap

You also have to be a little subjective as to what you count as Died. Do you mean Died permanently, or in the true spirit if Sci-Fi dieing and being resurrected later in some fashion.

And then there's Astrid which is a whole other question

Edited on 05/08/2008 9:58am

belial_77

[4]May 8, 2008
    • level: 17

Here's the Wiki link for a list... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Companion_%28Doctor_Who%29