Doctor Who (1963) Forums

BBC (ended 1989)

The Mind of Evil

archangelwho

[1]Jun 21, 2013
    • level: 18

When the Doctor was question about his certification as a scientist he stated that "I have been a scientist for thousands of...." He then cut it off and walked away. He stated it out of irritation which ususally mean a person is stating a fact. Does this mena that the Doctor is much older than the ages given or is this a throw away line used once and forgotten thus nolnger part of the storyline?

You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

wildhoney66

[2]Jun 22, 2013
    • level: 13

it's been awhile since i last saw it. but i think it was a throway line cause he's what 900 something in the current series. i forget the actual age though. but this is just a guess on my part.

archangelwho

[3]Jun 22, 2013

Some where in season 7 part 2 he gives his age as 1,000 and something. So today storeline places him just over 1,000 years old. If what I read about a Timelord can go 900 years per regeneration if he does not do something to get his body killed the Doctor has shorten his life by around 8,900 years because of the life he chose.

pferreira86

[4]Jun 23, 2013
    • level: 17

I think The Doctor was exaggerating. The production team hadn't sorted out at that point how old was The Doctor or how many lives he'd previously had, see The Brain of Morbius so understand what I mean.

archangelwho

[5]Jun 23, 2013

Most shows can develop over time with little real problems, Andy Griffith, Friends are examples of shows that story lines about characters change a great deal. With shows like Doctor Who it does make it hard at times but again allow for some great debates.

dcpgaus

[6]Jul 23, 2013
    • level: 16