An Elementary Community
CBS (ended 2019)
I have written reviews for Elementary since the beginning of Season 3.

This is my penultimate text. I am no professional writer of any kind so most if not all of my reviews didn’t follow any standards.
They were just the expression of my thoughts about an extraordinary series that
besides one ending and one episode that I didn’t like never disappointed my expectations.
„Reichenbach falls“ was no exception.

From the beginning of the series we got an insight into what made Sherlock the person he is and it was clear from the beginning that the early loss of his mother (although we didn’t know for sure until the middle of Season 4) and the dysfunctional relationship with his father played an important role.

As Sherlock said in this episode, Morland had turned his back on his wife when she struggled with addiction and neglected his children when they desperately would have needed a father.
They experienced him as a strange, cold and distant person who obviously didn’t understand what being a father meant or even worse didn’t know how to love at all.
As it resulted in Sherlock being utterly alone for most of his life it is no wonder that he was never able to forgive him for what he had done to them.

In the episode „T-Bone and the Iceman“ in Season three Sherlock had said:

„Family is the tie that binds, but while one end undergirds human civilisation the other one is a noose that chokes away your individuation.“
Sherlock Holmes
Now, after Morland got killed, he realises that despite everything that has happened between them he still loved his father, that even though a noose can choke you it also offers a hold.

It was moving to see how hard Sherlock took the death of his father, how he got more depressed and more hopeless with every new lead that came to nothing.
In that situation the value of Joan Watson in his life becomes once more obvious.