Firefly Forums

FOX (ended 2002)

Why exactly was this show cancelled?

blitzkriegbeer

[1]Jul 13, 2008
    • level: 5

I'm sure this thread has already been created, so I apologize in advance if this ticks anyone off.

But seriously, why? I only got into the show myself after its cancellation, so was it because of not enough interest/bad ratings? It seems strange since everyone I have met who watched the show adored it in turn.

And yes, they REALLY need to get this show running again, it's so unique.

Edited on 07/13/2008 4:03pm
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

Angeldove

[2]Jul 13, 2008
    • level: 3

I'm new to this particular forum, so I don't know if this has been discussed here or not, but I have no problem answering your question.

FOX sucks!!!!!

That is the answer you'll get from most fans you ask. It stems from a list of things FOX did to screw this show over:

Showing episodes out of order (I really wish they'd put them in the right order on the guide)

Showing pilot episode last

Forcing Joss Whedon to write a new first episode over a weekend or shelve the whole project (The Train Job - good, but no Serenity)

Horrible time-slot, Friday's at 7 still might have worked if Baseball hadn't then gotten in the way by constantly pre-empting

Very little marketing, and what they did do was ridiculous "hooker on a space ship" this was part of their marketing, I'm not kidding. Also, the "girl in the box" but since they failed to show the episode with her in the box, that just confused a lot of people.

And so on and so on....I've been there since day one, the only reason was because I was already a Whedon fan through Buffy and Angel, or I too probably would have missed it. I'm glad you had the chance to find it in cancellation - I know it's bitter sweet, but I guess it's one of those its better to have loved and loss type situations.

zzbeach

[3]Jul 14, 2008
    • level: 12