Ford Theatre

CBS (ended 1951)




User Rating
8 votes

By Users

Write A Review
Ford Theatre

Show Summary

Ford Theatre was a celebrated live dramatic anthology series sponsored by The Ford Motor Company and created by its agency Kenyon & Eckhardt, Inc. Ford Theatre was a one-hour spin-off of a successful radio anthology. It featured original and adapted one-hour dramas broadcast live for the East Coast from CBS studios in New York. The television series premiered with the episode "Years Ago" on Sunday, October 17, 1948 at 7:30. The series ran monthly for its first season. Episodes were produced by Garth Montgomery and were directed by Marc Daniels. In its second season, Ford Theatre moved to Fridays at 9:00 where it began running bi-monthly. Halfway through the season Garth Montgomery stepped down as producer of the show was replaced by Winston O'Keefe. O'Keefe left the show after the second season and Montgomery returned as executive producer. In its third season, Ford Theatre alternated with Magnavox Theatre, another dramatic anthology. The one-hour live version of Ford Theater ended on June 29, 1951 with a restaging of the play "The Ghost Patrol". After a one-year hiatus, Ford Theater would later return under the title Ford Theatre: All Star Theatre. This series feature half-hour filmed episodes and was broadcast on a different network. Ford Theater featured both original dramas and adaptations of existing material. Its three season run included adaptations of Joseph Kesselring's "Arsenic and Old Lace", Kenyon Nicholson's "The Barker", Joseph Conrad's "Heart of Darkness", and George L. Du Maurier's "Peter Ibbetson". The show also featured work by famous (or later famous) actors Boris Karloff, Anthony Quinn, Burgess Meredith, Eddie Albert, Cloris Leachman, and Zero Mostel. Broadcast History CBS: October 1948-June 1949----Sunday----7:30 p.m. CBS: October 1949-June 1951----Friday----9:00 p.m.moreless