Friday Night Lights Forums

The 101 (ended 2011)

Does the camera work ever improve?

mattyg1306

[1]Jun 3, 2011
    • level: 16

I just watched the first couple of episodes of "Friday Night Lights" for the first time during the show's very brief stint on ABC Family a while back. Although the show seemed like it might be good, the EXTREMELY crappy camera work was so distracting that it removed me from the show on several occasions. Now that the original run of the series is over, maybe someone could let me know if the camera work changes and improves as the show moves on, or is like this for the entire run? I am considering buying the DVDs, but if the camera work stays so horrible, I doubt I would ever finish season one, let alone the other four seasons.

I will add that I make YouTube videos with MUCH better camera work than this and I'm a total amateur and taught myself everything I know (like USE A TRIPOD, HARNESS, DOLLY, AND/OR CRANE!)...what was the point of making it so rough? It certainly doesn't add any effect to the show (and, in this case, I don't buy that the camera was "another character" in this show...if it is, its on crack...BAD crack!)...it only takes away! Had they only filmed it like "Everwood" or "One Tree Hill", this would be so much more enjoyable. Even most reality shows I've watched have better camera work!

You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

TVGord

[2]Jun 8, 2011
    • level: 9

The camera work is a stylistic choice for the show, and no it doesn't change. Personally, I love it. It's meant to make us feel as though we're another person in the room, observing what's going on (simulating a head that would be looking around the room while things are going on). I'm sorry that you don't enjoy it, because you're missing out on one of the best shows on TV.

mattyg1306

[3]Jun 9, 2011

TVGord wrote: