We're moving Forums to the Community pages. Click here for more information and updates.

History Alive

Season 3 Episode 28

Seven Deadly Sins: Lust

Aired Unknown Dec 29, 2008 on The History Channel
out of 10
User Rating
1 votes

By TV.com Users

Episode Summary

Seven Deadly Sins: Lust
Christianity says lust is a sin but the Greek and Roman empires celebrated it. The history of the sin of lust reveals surprising twists--including Gnostic Christian orgies, Puritan anti-fornication laws, and exorcists who battled the demon of lust called Asmodeus. Today scientists believe the sin of lust maybe more genetics than choice... but can they prove it?moreless

Who was the Episode MVP ?

No results found.
No results found.
No results found.

    Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions


    • TRIVIA (0)

    • QUOTES (4)

      • Narrator: The seven deadly sins, they exist in each of us and some say they affect our very souls. Lust, envy, gluttony, sloth, greed, anger and pride: according to Christian theology, committing these deadly sins is as simple as thinking about them. Each of these sins has a secret history revealing how they came to became deadly. The seven deadly sins have had an enormous impact on history, society and our souls. And the most enticing of the seven deadly sins is lust.

      • Narrator: The sin of lust, the devout ancients called it inordinate craving for carnal pleasure, the Bible calls is fornication, adultery, temptations of the flesh, it is sexual desire so powerful that it overwhelms and destroys. Yet for much of the ancient world, lust was not condemned, it was celebrated.

      • Narrator: Jesus says the punishment for sin is Hell, eternal damnation. The faithful believe that committing the seven deadly sins would send a person to Hell. Yet nowhere in the Bible is there a description of Hell. The most powerful depiction of damnation for sinners would come in later generations from the pen of the Italian writer Dante Alighieri.

      • Narrator: The question remains: Could the practice of lust, envy, gluttony, sloth, greed, anger or pride doom one to an eternity of being punished in the pits of Hell? Whatever you believe, the seven deadly sins remain relevant for the still affect society, ourselves and quite possibly our souls.

    • NOTES (0)

    • ALLUSIONS (0)