Ironside Forums

NBC (ended 1975)

Fans of IRONSIDE?

jamoon2006

[1]Dec 3, 2007
    • level: 36

I bought Season 2 as a "blind buy" and am loving it! This is one of the best crime dramas I've ever seen, both in terms of acting and story. Unlike a lot of the other shows from the era that I've seen, Ironside is able to tackle heady issues from the 1960s (racial tension, abortion, drugs, the hippie movement) without ever condescending to levels of Jack Webb and "Blueboy." Raymond Burr is amazing, but he's generous with the rest of the cast and never completely takes over the show. Last night, I watched the episode with Milton Berle ("I, The People") as the Bill O'Reilly type who is receiving death threats, and it could have been aired as an episode of a show today! Other than the fashions and cars being dated, the drama is still engaging, and that's one of the best compliments you can pay to a show from the 1960s.

I'm relatively new to the bandwagon, but I was just posting to see who else out there was a fan of this show. Thanks!

You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

AprilFox

[2]Jan 17, 2008
    • level: 109

Hi Jamoon, I'm a huge fan but that's a given. I think Hugh Laurie may have gotten his quirky House character from Raymond Burr's Ironside. Unfortunately alot of younger kids don't know about the show and figure a guy in a wheelchair can't do anything, what they don't realize is never underestimate the ingenious Robert Ironside. Glad you like the show. There are a lot of great episodes. I will be posting some great screen captures of the show.

Ironside

revbucky

[3]Jul 15, 2008
    • level: 22
    Haven't seen Ironside in ages. I used to watch it faithfully when it first aired. Great show!

jamoon2006

[4]Jul 18, 2008