Kim Possible Forums

Disney Channel (ended 2007)

The Beginning of the End

bbqsauce13

[1]Sep 6, 2010
    • level: 39

I remember when Kim Possible first began to air in 2002. I've been a novice viewer of Disney Channel for quite some time, so I can recall the manners in which they have so drastically evolved since that time. Many of their decisions have been verifiable, others have been malformed. Recently, however, it appears one decision was made that very well could lead to the downfall of their more loyal viewership.

Over this long summer, Disney Channel began to exclusively air more modern programming throughout their entire (non-Playhouse Disney) schedule (now 2 PM - 4 AM), limiting themselves to Wizards of Waverly Place, Hannah Montana (Forever), Jonas (LA), Phineas and Ferb, Good Luck Charlie, The Suite Life on Deck, and Sonny with a Chance. Reviewing the history of the network, one will notice that Disney Channel routinely shifts their schedule between Memorial Day and Labor Day to appeal to a larger audience for summer vacations. This year, predictably, Disney Channel stopped airing the classic shows that were shown in the early morning hours before Memorial Day, including shows such as The Replacements, Kim Possible, The Emperor's New School, American Dragon: Jake Long, and several others. Looking at the scheduling blocks after Labor Day when the summer programming officially ends, however, all of these older shows will remain off of the schedule. There will be no more classic programming. Period.