Mrs. Olsen

Bobbi01

[1]Aug 7, 2006
    • level: 4
    I am not an expert on the time period that the story takes place, but I was watching the show the other day and Mrs Olsen is participating in an Elders meeting at the church.  During that time period, I don't see  a woman participating as a elder (same as a member of the school board on another show).   I think they just added this for some 'drama' on the show.  Anyone else have comments on this?
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

jknappfan

[2]Aug 12, 2006
    • level: 1

I think you are right. Back then they would not have been so willing to allow a woman on the seat of elder in a church.

I think it was for drama sake myself. 

alaska_amber

[3]Aug 15, 2006
    • level: 9
    I do not like Mrs. Olsen I have been wanting her to die ever sence the show was on the air ..... lol. not a very nice thing to want but she just makes me so mad and I don't like watching a sweet show with a mean old hag like that on it to answer your comment your right no way no how would a woman have ever been in charge of anything even with the store most people would not have bought from her it would have had to be a man , back then things were very much a mans world very sad but yet very true . kinda stinks if you ask me but thats just the way things were done in the old days ...... ttyl -Amber

Darrell1012

[4]Aug 17, 2006
    • level: 3
    i think that mrs. olson provides comic relief. lol

Darrell1012

[5]Aug 17, 2006
    • level: 3
    i think they did it because if they didn't mrs. olson would have done or said something behind their backs.

twilliams606

[6]Aug 18, 2006
    • level: 7
    Darrell1012 wrote:
    i think that mrs. olson provides comic relief. lol

I agree and don't you love it when Nels stands up to her? It makes me so happy lol

JediSnoopy

[7]Sep 30, 2006
    • level: 13