Lord Mountbatten: The Last Viceroy

Acorn Media Group


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
0 votes

By TV.com Users

Write A Review
Lord Mountbatten: The Last Viceroy

Show Summary

Lord Mountbatten: The Last Viceroy was a television series that aired on the Independent Television Authority in England during the early 1980s. Its subject was Earl Mountbatten of Burma, the man who would be the final viceroy of India before England turned over power to the local people in 1947. The show would cover the final years of Mountbatten's reign. Lord Mountbatten: The Last Viceroy was comprised of six one-hour long episodes and starred Nicol Williamson as Lord Mountbatten and Janet Suzman as his wife, Lady Edwina Mountbatten. Also appearing in the series were Wendy Hiller as Princess Victoria, Owen Holder as King George VI, David Lyon as Lieutenant Colonol Vernon Erskin-Crum, Ian Richardson as Nehru, Malcom Terris as William Churchill and Sam Dastor as Mountbatten's chief foil, Mahatma Gandhi. Lord Mountbatten: The Last Viceroy was shot entirely in Sri Lanka. It was directed by Tom Clegg and produced by the company, Brent Walker PLC.

Previously Aired Episode

AIRED ON 1/1/2005

Season 1 : Episode 6


More Info About This Show




Politics, Historical, British TV, Biography