Lost Forums

ABC (ended 2010)

What was the island?

IanBorg0

[21]Jun 14, 2010
    • level: 4

I think that the main problem with the show was not the finale as such, but they probably made the mistake of dividing the mythology stuff and the scientific stuff into different seasons. I think that most of the answers as to what the island is lie in season 5 actually. It may be some sort of egyptian-gaia-origin of life-evil vs good- stuff, but I think most of it is about sci-fi.

I am no scientist but I think the last few episodes have shown that the multiple universe theory is probably the closest to the true answer. The electromagnetic light and the island itself acts as some sort of force that keeps the universes from colliding to the point of their own destruction. When you remove the "cork" the light is released and the force keeping them intact is released with devastating consequences. Maybe in mathematical terms the island is a string of variables that keep all universes in harmony, with the constant being obviously desmond.

You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

SnarkBC

[22]Jun 14, 2010
    • level: 8

There isn't any evidence of other universes though. The show went out of its way to make us believe we were watching another universe, and it wasn't. In Lost there is only one universe. The island is the well of souls. Plain and simple, they really haven't left much wiggle room for interpretation. It's a place where the magical light that represents our souls aka our life gathers before it can pass onto the after life. The island IS purgatory. That's the irony, all the people who guessed it was purgatory were right, but instead of dying and ending up on the island, you die and then you end up in your imaginary made up purgatory that you create using the islands power.

Lux22

[23]Jun 14, 2010
    • level: 6
    DARKANGEL_42 wrote: