TV.com will be making some changes to our user base starting Feb 25, 2015. For more information click here

Lost

Season 6 Episode 17

The End

7
Aired Sunday 9:00 PM May 23, 2010 on ABC
SUBMIT REVIEW

Episode Fan Reviews (41)

8.8
out of 10
Average
1,449 votes
  • NCIS REVIEWS 2/11/2014 TO 3/4/2014

    5.0
    REVIEW FOR 3/4/2014 EPISODE: For 10 seasons and 2 episodes, NCIS has been an outstanding drama series with trials and tribulations. And for the entire run their as been a cohesion unmatched in few other shows. The mixture of Jenny and Gibbs and the occasional flash backs. The unexpected appearances of Franks usually meant "Probe Gibbs" was in for it. Then their was Kate inserting her mild but some time stinging rebuffs to Denozzo's ramblings. After Kate's departure, Ziva took of the gauntlet, defending her spaces from all comers. Unfortunately, after season 11 week 2, Ziva departed, leaving a giant void that to present has not and probably will never be fill. Bishops character is totally opposite to ANY of the predecessors. She can handle the floor because that appears to be where she spends most of her time. Her soft presentation does nothing for the scenes she is in. And her inputs seems after thoughts from the writers and producers. To top it off, I don't think the introduction of a husband will do nothing to improve the character. Since week 2, Gibbs character has changed too. Gone is the Marine who took on any task and led the team through hell and high water. Now it seems he is coddling to the newbie, not wanting to treat her like Kate and Ziva were treated. Harsh at time but father like at other times. Dinozzo seems lost, not knowing how to approach Bishop. McGee has lost his mojo at time, wondering what Bishop will say or not say. Palmers character has turned into a hen pecked husband, jumping every time the wife calls. Dr. Mallard and Abby seem to be the only characters that have maintained the styles that we have grown to enjoy for 10+ years. I realize, all these character are just character. But the new mix is not working. Could you see Bishop in Afghanistan shooting it out with the rebels? Don't think so. Could you see Bishop and Dinozzo locked up in a container full of money, shooting it out with the bad guys? Don't think so. The Bishop character may have been a good and needed fix to replace Ziva, BUT THE SELECTION OF WICKERSHAM was a mistake and the direction what production team is sending the character is doing nothing for the show. In fact, it is killing the show. I have 10.2 seasons of reruns and then it will stop. Foot Note: My wife always watches NCIS with me. But, tonight, was the first time she got up and started clean the house. That is how far the show has fallen. REVIEW FOR 2/26/2014 EPISODE: HA, another Bishop sighting last night. I think they were trying to show her character had some defense skills. But for real, both Kate and Ziva would have had her on the ground in 5 seconds. The came the bumbling investigation for truck accident. DA. One point of this episode, it would be an easy out for the character with the shooting. Sad but true. We have had 10 out standing seasons of NCIS. I fear we will see the decay in season 11. Maybe a decade is long enough. REVIEW FOR 2/242014 EPISODE: Just finished watching the 2/18/2014 episode and as usual, it was quality NCIS. No one sitting on the desks or on the floor. Just the 3 person team, minus Ziva, defending the free world. Thanks for the re-run. REVIEW FOR 2/11/2014 EPISODE: What could be the last "A+" NCIS show was aired tonight with a Ziva sighting? Tony did look like a bum for a while, but he finally found a shaver. I suppose we will be back to the "C+" rated shows soon with Bishop. Too bad the producers had to contaminate the show.
  • worst finale ever

    1.0
    So they are all dead, And with that nothing in the whole series makes sense. Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse claimed this was planned from day 1, thats total BS. It was a cheap buyout. They promised everything would be answered. Watch the serries again and keep in mind that nothing is real and that they are all already dead, that will show you how bad of a show this was.
  • If you think the LOST finale was the best thing since sliced bread, read this lengthy diatribe.

    1.0
    The Lost Finale started off as any other episode of the series, meaning I was enjoying it immensely, when, like Oceanic Flight 815, the show abruptly did a nosedive into the realm of cliche and unnecessary tragedy. And I watched as the show I loved so much crashed and burned. I feel betrayed that a show I have invested so much time into-frequently defending it to my friends and family-transmogrified from a sharp, smart sci-fi show on par with the likes of Doctor Who into a cheesy, prosaic story that belonged on such shows like Joan of Arcadia or Ghost Whisperer. I'll be the first to admit that I am religious, and though I have my own view on the afterlife, I'm not opposed to watching or reading works with a different outlook. However, those works I reference never pretended to be anything other than religious/supernatural stories. They didn't start out by trying to explain monsters and other supernatural phenomena as scientific anomalies, and they didn't spend two seasons setting up and delivering a story about time travel. I mean, what were the point of Daniel Faraday and his theories on time travel? If you can't change the past or create alternative realities where the people are alive (see Doctor Who and Fringe for good examples) then why introduce the concept in the first place? To have some fun? To mess with the viewers' heads? And what was up with Miles hearing dead Juliet's comment that "it worked"? Are we to believe that Miles wasn't hearing the last thoughts of the dead, but her thoughts in limbo land when she handed James his candy bar? Are we to accept that the bomb did absolutely no good? So Daniel, the nuclear physicist was really an idiot, after all? Jeez, what's the point of knowing quantum physics when you can't do anything with it? And I guess Jack and Juliet were idiots too for believing him. But this doesn't make sense, because we know electromagnetism has to do with time travel. We were introduced to this in season 3 when Desmond, newly exposed to electromagnetism, flashed to a parallel world and saw his past play out in a nearly identical manner. (Remember, in the real past he broke up with Penny on his own volition, not on the urging of Eloise. And the football team won in one version and lost in the other). We got more confirmation on this theory in "The Constant" and when Ben turned the Donkey Wheel, harnessing the energy and moving the island through space and time. So why did the electromagnetism, which was previously a vehicle for travel through time and space, turn into a means to flash to an eternal limbo and back? Des was a time traveler. We know magical limbo was timeless, so how did a time traveller suddenly become an emissary for purgatory? It doesn't follow logic, and you can say all you want about sci-fi and fiction and how the writers can makes things up as they go, but it's not true. Even if your story exists outside the realm of the real world, you still have to follow the rules you established for that imaginary world. Let's make a syllogism to further illustrate the point: Electromagnetism creates time and space travel. Desmond can harness electromagnetism. Ergo, Desmond can travel to a place where time and reality don't exist? "XXXXXXXXXXXX" goes the buzzer. Logical fallacy. The thing that frustrates me is that they didn't have to make it purgatory. They had it set up so perfectly to be a parallel universe like the one Rose Tyler got stuck in. They could have easily had the last scene been Desmond telling those gathered at the church that they're in an alternate dimension that was created when the hydrogen bomb and the electromagnetism collided, and those who were still alive in the island world could either keep their consciousnesses over in the alternate world with their dead loved ones, or they could stay in the island world. And Kate, Sawyer and Claire would have chosen to stay with their soul mates, possibly Miles because his life sucked in the island world, and Ben and Hurley would have passed because they still had work to do on the island. Instead, we get the Harry Potter syndrome. I read that the LOST writers came up with this ending sometime during the beginning of the series run when JJ Abrams was still involved. This whole limbo thing was his ridiculous concoction. So probably, since season two, they were planning to make Jack die and meet up with Kate in purgatory. Goodie. That makes me feel sooooooo much better. Just like when I heard . Rowling wrote the Crapilogue waaaaaaaaay back at the beginning and refused to rewrite it after her series was complete. And it showed. The writing looked like it was taken right out of a banal sitcom. The characters showed no growth. In short, it sucked. Instead of adapting the ending to fit the evolution of the characters and story, both and the Lost writers stuck firmly to their original idea, and it did not make cohesive sense with the rest of the story. Lost was never a religious show. It had religious undertones, Christ-like figures, and certain characters like Charlie, Eko and Sayid who expressed religious beliefs, but religion wasn't the core of the show. It was a character study with sci-fi fantasy elements like Star Wars, Doctor Who, or Fringe. But in the last 15 minutes, the show did a 180 and became the next Touched by an Angel. If the writers had wanted this show to be a metaphor for our life's journey and final destination into the afterlife, they should have presented those ideas long before the finale and in more than just obtuse phrases like "everything happens for a reason," "it's destiny," and "don't confuse coincidence with What do those generic terms have to do with the bizzaro Roman Catholic purgatory we get in the end? And how do mere mortals create a magical realm through their thoughts and hopes and all arrive there after they die? How can people die in this world (like Keamy and Mikhail) when they're already dead? How can women have children when they're dead? When did the writers establish the rule that good thoughts and desires could even create an alternate dimension? Oh that's right. In the last 15 minutes of the program. Cheap, guys. Speaking of cheap . . . the emotional reunion between my favorite ships lost all meaning once I realized they were dead. Before that startling and unpleasant revelation, everything was so poignant and beautiful. I cried when Charlie and Claire remembered their island life, and I thought to myself, "Finally, Charlie can raise Aaron with Then Sawyer and Juliet kissed, and I grinned wildly from ear to ear. And even though I knew Jack was going to die when Kate and he kissed goodbye, I was still thrilled to hear her say, "I love And I thought, "well, at least they can be together in the parallel But what good is being together in an alternate world when you're dead? Dead people can't reproduce, as observed by the magical disappearance of David once Jack remembered his death. Jack and Kate et al. could conceivably stay in their happy limbo existence for a while and live out the life they never got, but the way Christian talked, it seemed pretty evident that everyone was "passing No second chances for any of my ships. What's the point of having canon ships when your couples are all frickin' dead?!? And what kind of crap life did Kate, Sawyer and Claire live after they landed in LA? If you'll recall in "Eggtown," Kate was told if she ever left the state, she would be thrown in jail for a long, long time. So Jack ordered her to leave so she could pine for him in a prison? She should have stayed, been with him when he died. Yeah, yeah, Vincent finding him in the bamboo grove was full of symmetry. Screw symmetry. I want at least semi-happy endings! And why, pray tell, did Jack have to die? If you tell me it's for the sake of coming full circle, blah blah blah, I will hurt you. Jack, my good, kind Jack, who tried his whole life to help people and to be a better person, has his life cut tragically short and doesn't get to be with the woman he loves. Whereas Ben, a man who committed mass genocide, who's lied and manipulated his whole life, gets the one thing he always wanted: to stay and protect the island. WTF? Don't get me wrong, I love Ben. But Ben should have died to redeem himself, like Sayid. Instead, the writers, being so enamored with Michael Emerson, give him a long happy existence on the island. Frickin A. Just thinking about it, makes me cry. Again. Let me end this rant with a mention about the title, "The Jacob said it would only end once. Yet, we didn't get to see it end. The island still needed protecting, which was why Hurley got the job. So what the hell was Jacob talking about? Where's this "end"? And what kind of justification is there in making Hurley the protector? He didn't want the job. He took it because Jack ordered him to. And isn't that exactly what Jacob didn't want to happen? To have another person forced into the position? For a show that was pushing free will, not much was available in the end
  • WORST SERIES FINALE EVER, completely destroys the sixth season and possibly all the other five.

    1.0
    Until the moment Jack puts the cork: Excellent, Awesome, a 10, both what have happened in the original universe and in the parallel universe. Then, in the last 15 minutes of the series, it crash and burns. The parallel universe turns out to be Purgatory. So: John Locke never got to be the leader of "the others", he never got to have a full life in the island, he just walks for 50 meters to the church and then goes to heaven. Boone never got to know Locke was right about the island and could say thanks to Locke for time together and then live in the now peaceful island. Shannon never got to mature and have a full relationship with Sayid Sun and Jin never returned to the island and then leave(which would be much easier now), to raise their daughter together. Claire lives the rest of his life without Charlie. Sawyer lives the rest of his life without Juliet. Imagine how much better it would be if: There were no purgatory flashbacks during the whole season, then jack dies in the bamboo forest, and then wakes up in the church with all the characters who have died until that moment(only those), and his father tells him that it's ok and they can go to heaven. And we know that the ones who survive would also meet with then in heaven eventually
  • about the episode

    10
    It had great editing.
  • This show man :'(

    10
    I felt like I knew everybody in this show and I can't believe I'm saying this but tears came out on this show the final show :( I love this show so much I wish ya can do more lost episodes and it would be a dream me acting inside of this show or with the creators and producers credos to all actors and bad robot also abc I. Love ya and this show the best show in my life and I mean it :( keep it up and my dream is to be an actor :-)
  • Wow. What a total copout.

    1.0
    Lost is one of my favorite shows EVER. Every episode, from the Pilot to the penultimate episode had a significance. Sure, there were ups and downs. There was the mysterious season 1, thought by many to be the best. There was season 2, which was far too slow and the new characters were far too annoying, at least until the ending. Season 3 had an amazing second half. Then there was the action packed and fast paced season 4, my favorite season to date, with every episode being important. Season 5 starts out interesting, then gets far too preachy for my liking, with the final episodes being good, not great.



    Season 6, up until the finale, was set for dethroning season 4 as my favorite. The flash-sideways was an interesting and thought provoking idea, which ultimately turned out to be a gigantic waste of time. The island story was awesome, with Jacob and Locke and the many many main character deaths.



    So what happened? Well, for me, it was too CHEESY. The happy/sad music, the church at the end, the way all the characters in the alternate reality somehow figured out that they were connected in the past and then proceeded to do...nothing. The final scene in the church had me facepalming. Since when was Lost a religious preachy show? I DON'T CARE IF THEY LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER. LOST ISN'T A FAIRY TALE.



    Thanks to this ending, EVERYTHING is pointless. It's just a version of the "it was all a dream" ending, only instead it's a "We've been dead the entire time, the past 6 seasons and all the hours of sleep our viewers have LOST means nothing because they were dead!"



    I'm not even upset about the answers. We found out everything totally pressing in my mind, except for Walt and the Polar Bears. However I don't care really about the Polar Bears...it's just a polar bear. Walt can probably be answered if you analyze the show and figure out it, but I don't see the point of a rewatch knowing that none of it matters anyway. The writers decided to throw everything they've worked on for six years into a church, and apparently god was not with them, because they managed to produce the worst possible ending to one of the greatest shows in the history of television.



    So if you forget the alternate reality BS, the story of season 6 boils down to the Monster, AKA John Locke, trying to get off the island. To do this he needs to get all of the candidates together, put out some ***ed god light, and then they can fly off. Well what happens? That happens, only Locke dies. All the important people that survive (besdies Hugo, Jack, and Ben) leave the island. The End. Oh yeah, and Jack dies. But I don't really care about that, because he was dead to begin with, right?



    Even with the remaining questions, such as "What is the light?" "What is the island?" "Why are Polar Bears on the island?" and everything else that was never answered after the first season, all would have been better if the finale was actually EXCITING. Instead we get a bunch of cheesy music and laughter and smiling, when it should have been the most exciting edge-of-your-seat 2 hours ever filmed for television. Instead I found myself yawning and wanted to skip through the scenes.



    Do I hate the show? No. I love the show. Lost as a show gets a 10, easy. I'd give the entire show 11 if I could. But the ending? Well, too bad TV.com can't go less than 1, because a 0/10 is fitting enough. I could write a better Series Finale in my sleep. And even if they had just taken out the goddamned church scene, I would've been fine. But that scene ruined everything in the show for me. All the characters that died, that lived, ALL OF THEM, what is the point? And why a church? Since when was Lost a religious show? There's been some religious episodes here and there, but the show was ultimately about science and fate and friendship. The finale was just an anti-climactic montage of people remembering stuff that happened on the island for the past 5 seasons and 16 episodes.



    And I remember that stuff too. Because I was fascinated by it. I was glued to my seat. I ignored important phone calls just so I could finish it. I had to watch "one more episode" until I was falling asleep in my chair, yet even then I would go to the fridge and drink a caffeinated soda just to finish the episode.



    So all of that dedication...just to find out that they were dead. Is this supposed to be a bitter-sweet ending? Because for me the only sweet is everything before this episode.



    Hell, at least 24 had a good ending.
  • Lost Forever

    10
    Excellent episode, emocional and dazzling. Lost is more than a tv show, is about redemption, find your way, is about surpass your mistakes, is about people. Jack and the losties are link together forever and beyond, six year in the island, six wonderful and hard years. The last scene is amazing, all together in the church, this means is time to move on, time for the next step of the life.
  • I Can't LET IT GO

    6.0
    Its been almost 2 years..Lost writers you will never read this..Abrams/Lindlehof others you have moved on..I sadly cant..not yet..Not when i see the Season 6 DVD in stores..I still cant bring myself to get it...Let be clear..Lost is one the best TV Shows i have ever seen..Even with the S3 slowdown...It was really all about the JOURNEY/CHARACTERS..,,I GET IT..BUT THIS last episode...YOU CANt TELL ME what ive seen the last 5 yrs.. all the mysteries/secrets/suspense that you've built up DOESNT MATTER..Not when you've taken the time to build up stories/developments/factors so detailed you have college professors/students writng papers/thesis abut your belief vs faith quandry.... I know it was just a TV show..bu so many shows dont get to end..Especially shows as complex as LOST..they just get cancelled or never make it past pilot stage..This whole season was built around this final show....and while yeah it was emotional to the core...The "Answers" never came!!.. Sideways World=Cool Concept...but even that was mocked in the end...Yeah i know i'm on a long list of people that wanted those answers.being i wasnt on TV.com at the time..i needed to get that off my chest...anyway my grading scale two parts...Emotional=A Answers-F Final grade=C..Lost The Series=A- 4th on my alltime list
  • Time To Let Go

    10
    Time To Let Go





    "You needed all of them and they needed you," says Christian Shepard with mild, glowing eyes to his son Jack. The doc looks around in the church where he was supposed to have his father's funeral, clearly confused. He looks at his father, there are nearly tears in his eyes now. "For what?" To which Christian replies: "To remember and to... let go." One of the last scenes of Lost reveals a fun metaphor in which Jack is the audience of Lost: confused, frustrated, sad. Because a few minutes later, the audience just like Jack needs to let go of the show that has caught them on a figurative island for its six year run. Though the very last hundred and five minutes of Lost may be polarizing to the series' large fan-base, I found myself completely stuck to my television screen until the moment main-character Jack closes his eye and the screen fades out. For my television that was the end, for my brains, however... not exactly; just like Jack, I had a hard time letting go. And I still have.





    The finale immediately starts with emotional, nostalgic music from Micheal Giacchino as we see how Christian Shepard's coffin finally is recovered by Oceanic airlines. What follows are some nice cuts intertwined in the alternate time line to show us where every character stands on the island. Jack is now the new island protector and he and his friends set out to go to the heart of the island where Jack believes he can stop Locke. Hurley's response to the plan is, however (the series final Star Wars reference): "I have a bad feeling about this." For the last time the Lost logo that J.J. Abrams made on his laptop years ago floats by and we're dragged into a finale of non-stop suspense and tension, emotion and action. 'A storm is coming to the island' might not be the most original story device, but it works really well and it gives us a feeling that for the last time something terrible is about to happen. This storm, together with some cool aerial camera shots of director Jack Bender, works great to give the finale an epic feeling that you rarely see in a television show.





    The main conflict of the plot is the final conflict between Jack and Locke. It is a delight to see that this conflict revolves around two characters that always had conflicts in the earlier seasons, though it now comes back in a completely different context. Jack is now the man of faith, while Locke (well, actually the never-named man in black wearing Locke's face) now is the man of science. Both men want to prove each other wrong about the heart of the island which reflects their conflict revolving the button in the hatch in season two. It is brilliant that the finale in fact resembles the season two finale so much without lazily copying it or without being too obvious.





    After Jack and Locke lowered Desmond in the heart of the island, Desmond unplugs the mysterious cork. The light has been put out and as everything starts to tremble, Desmond screams. Was Jack wrong? Is the man in black actually going to succeed? Well, not exactly. Locke is now mortal. It is neat that this last reveal does not feel forced, but rather logical and fitting because the smoke monster, after all, was somehow created by the light. Tension now really starts to rise. As Jack goes after the man in black to confront him in a final battle, Sawyer, Kate, Hurley and Ben try to escape the island, which is slowly falling apart. Then there is also Richard, Miles and Lapidus trying to fix the Ajira plane before the island sinks to the bottom of the ocean. The raging storm and the trembling island allow a great mise en scene the lighting is dark, the storm makes it all the more looming and the island feels once more like this dangerous and unpredictable place. An epic cinematography is used when Locke and Jack confront each other for the last time. Camera's are flying above the two actors jumping into each other, ready to kill. Locke manages to stab Jack, but Kate comes to rescue and shoots him ("I saved you a bullet!" she says, because, ironically enough, Locke earlier said to her that she could better save her bullets for later). The wounded Jack kicks the man in black off a cliff, which cleverly resembles the way the man in black kicked a stabbed Jacob into a fire last season. But it is still not over yet. The earthquakes keep going on. And as Jack kisses Kate goodbye and shakes hands with Sawyer, Kate and the conman hurry to make it to the plane. Jack returns to the heart together with Hurley and Ben.





    Here everything is perfectly balanced, just like the finale of season three "Through the Looking Glass", considered to be one of the best Lost episodes. The writing is great: sharp dialogue, great tension, rich metaphors the best maybe when Juliet tells Sawyer in the alternate time line that he should unplug the vending machine and then plug it back in (metaphor for unplugging the light in the heart of the island). And overall there is a perfect balance between tension (the island storyline mainly), some comic relief exactly on the places where necessary and emotion (especially in the alternate time line, where everyone 'remembers'). Furthermore, every character gets a moment to shine in the right places. Especially Hurley and Ben, after a wounded Jack plugs the plug back in and the electromagnetic light shines once more and the earthquakes stop. Hurley is left as the new protector of the island, stepping into Jacob's shoes. Hurley, who always was the comic relief of the show, is now one of the most important people in the history of the island but why him? "You do what you do best, Hugo. Taking care of people." As Ben beautifully says to him. Benjamin Linus himself finally chose to let go of his power and redeems himself by having peace with working for Hurley.





    Meanwhile, in the alternate time line, Jack is the only one who has not remembered his time on the island yet. Everyone else found his or her constant and comes together in the church. It is quite ironic actually that in a show called Lost, it is about people finding each other. There are some nice moments before Jack makes it to the church. One where Ben tells Locke how sorry he is for what he did to him and tells him that he can get out of his wheelchair now. Another one where Hurley says that Ben was a great number two to which Ben replies that Hurley was a great number one, referring to Hurley's time as protector of the island.





    Jack finally opens the coffin of his father and as he touches the wood of the coffin his island memories return. Suddenly his father stands behind him and he explains to him that everyone of them is dead in this place. Some before Jack, some long after Jack. Christian tells him that his friends are waiting for him in the church and as Jack joins them a montage starts where they cut from Jack on the island slowly dying because of his wounds and back to Jack in the church. This is accompanied by some of Micheal Giacchino's finest work (he already did some great musical work in the sixth season). It is brilliant how the writers complete the circle, as Jack passes by his father's old shoe hanging in a tree and slowly falls to the ground in the bamboo field. Suddenly we hear barking and Vincent the dog joins Jack and for the last time the leader of the group survivors smiles with tears in his eyes as he sees how the Ajira plane flies over the island knowing he succeeded and that his friends made it off. Then... his eye slowly closes and the screen fades out. L O S T. It is great how this scene exactly mirrors the very first scene of Lost in the pilot and this is also one of the moments in the finale that I (as I have to admit) nearly cried.





    "The End", written by show-runners Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse and directed by Lost veteran-director Jack Bender, knows how to end Lost in a great way. With a brilliant pace, balanced and sharp writing, good tension, honest emotions, nostalgia, a shining moment for every important character, an intelligent plot and being technically superb, the Lost series finale is more than satisfying. And no, they did not answer every mystery, but really? Everything that was necessary for us to understand the plot and for us to understand the character's motivations was answered. In a way, the island of Lost is a metaphor for the earth: there is conflict between believers and scientists, some believe that everything on earth can be explained by logical and scientific thinking, while others believe that some things just cannot be explained and that there is a path for everyone of us to follow. And will everyone really understand life when they die? No, of course not. And as soon as we discover something new that answers one question about life, dozens of other questions will rise. Just like the island of Lost, the earth and life on it will remain a mystery box never to be fully explored.





    And as this was the fourth time I watched the finale I found myself astonished that I was still thinking intensely about it for the next few days. So after this incredible experience I would like to thank Damon Lindelof, J.J. Abrams, Jeffrey Lieber, Carlton Cuse and everyone else that brought this show to life, because for me there will probably never be anything like it. And I will remember it for the rest of my life, until I have to let go.
  • Life and Death

    10
    This show has always been about life and death...the fact that it ended with Jack giving his life for his fellow castaways, not to mention the whole of humanity (according to 'Across the Sea') was epic...and then how they were united again in death was Shakespearean in scope and truly awesome. To those who call it a cop-out because it did not define the Island in specifics, I ask you this one question...Can you explain the universe and all the mysteries in our world or even on our planet? There is no explanation that makes sense. Our very existence has been debated about for all of human history. The show was saying that the island is like that. We can observe it, we know things about it..."it a place where miracles happen", "it's like a cork protecting the world from evil", "It has special properties of electromagnetism and people are healed there", etc, etc. But as far as saying what it is, that is up for debate, just like our world is... This episode was actually amazingly intelligent as well emotional and they handled it brilliantly imo...An all time classic!!
  • R.I.P Lost! One of this generations greatest shows

    10
    I'll admit, i'm a bit annoyed that questions that've been plaguing us for years didn't get answered, but I just sat back and enjoyed the ending.

    Jacks fight against MiB was epic! How could you not love it? Them two, duking it out.

    Poor Jack, dying, especially after he and Kate finally got together. Still, the ending scene of him dying in the same position as he woke up was a piece of brilliance.

    It was great to see Rose & Bernard again. Gotta love their relationship. I honesty would've prefered if they became Adam & Eve during one of their season 5 time travels, than Jacobs mother and MiB.

    The character moments in the sideways verse was beautiful. I cried during the Charlie & Claire moment, and I don't cry due to TV (except for Sun/Jin death a few weeks ago. That could melt even the iciest heart)

    And the truth about the sideways verse: It was purgatory So the show ended with the cast dead (except Michael, whos now a whisper, and Walt, who's who knows where), but did they die at the plane crash, or sometime after?

    You gotta hand it to Lost, leaving questions even after the shows finished. and yet it didn't deter from the quality, delivering one of the shows best episodes.
  • ...Ground Breaking...

    10
    Words can not describe how this episode should (and hopefully) will make all fans of Lost feel. Everything you could ever want in an episode of the best show on television, and it's over 90 minutes of awesome downloaded directly into your brain. No matter how many questions you may have had, if you walk away from this episode unsatisfied, then you probably shouldn't have been watching for all these years. In fact you probably aren't human. I don't mean to push my opinion, as my feelings are shared among a group of many of my friends. Some who have been with the show since the beginning and some who joined in just months ago.

    I won't just give you a direct synopsis, however I will say that I feel so much closure. More than I've ever felt for a show in my life. I loved, I laughed, I cried, I yelled at my TV, I sat on the edge of my seat, I remembered...and I let go. I hope you all feel the same way as I did.
  • For the first time, I finally understood LOST.

    10
    It has been great these 6 years to experience what I call a masterpiece. None come close to the emotional impact this show has had these past years and for the first time, I cried during the episode. It has been fun, suspensful and simply....epic. All these years of figuring and hammering out explanations... I enjoyed it enormously and I know you did too. So so long, fellow friends. All those questions, all those thoughts... just seems irrelavant at this point. I feel like it does not matter anymore. But what does matter....is Letting go. See you in another life yeah?
  • Fitting, but not quite complete

    8.0
    Here we come to the end of LOST. We've been with these guys for six seasons, most of the time utterly confused. We watch this final episode, hoping and expecting a good explanation for all the weird happenings on the island.

    Do we get what we hope for?

    I enjoyed this finale. In a way, it was immensely satisfying. We got a final reunion of several of the major characters. We got well done flashback scenes. We got classic LOST twists that leave the meaning open to the viewers' debate and interpretation.

    What I didn't like about the finale was the major questions it left unanswered. There were quite a few huge things they didn't even attempt to explain... like why could the women on the island not give birth? Why was Walt so special? Et cetera, et cetera.

    In sum, this episode was in part satisfying, in part not. In terms of characters, the writers did an excellent job wrapping everything up. In terms of plot, however, they leave us feeling somewhat cheated.

    But, hey, it was epic. It was mind-boggling. It was a fun ride.

    Thank you, everyone who made LOST happen, for giving us this epic work of art.
  • I can't believe I watched for 6 seasons, just to get "there is magic in the island, and its white light". I trusted the writers to give me a complete story, and all I got was a half baked crappy magic show.

    1.0
    I can't believe I watched for 6 seasons, just to get "there is magic in the island, and its white light". I trusted the writers to give me a complete story, and all I got was a half baked crappy magic show.
    I can't believe I watched for 6 seasons, just to get "there is magic in the island, and its white light". I trusted the writers to give me a complete story, and all I got was a half baked crappy magic show.
    I can't believe I watched for 6 seasons, just to get "there is magic in the island, and its white light". I trusted the writers to give me a complete story, and all I got was a half baked crappy magic show.
    I can't believe I watched for 6 seasons, just to get "there is magic in the island, and its white light". I trusted the writers to give me a complete story, and all I got was a half baked crappy magic show.
  • very satisfying

    10
    i loved the finale, ill never delete it on my tivo, and im ok with not all questions being answered. think bout it guys, season six has a bad rep cuz when they did answer something it was a bit dissapointing, what if the answers on the finale would have been dissapointing too? the finale would have been worse. i like what they presented to us last night and it was very satisfying. it started out a bit slow but thats understandable. as soon as the 20 minute mark came and jin and sun remembered and the brilliant lost orchestra that builds the emotion of every episode played in the background it was mesmorizing, so beautiful. it just kept getting better, building the suspense with desmond failing, jack threatening locke, and the tree pinning ben (although i wouldda liked to see how they got ben out from the tree after they said it was impossible). and cmon what about the intense jack and locke showdown. as soon as i saw jack hollar lockes name and locke pulled out his famous hunting knife, i knew it was going to be my favorite scene of the episode which it was. the camera work was beutiful showing a sky view of jack and locke getting closer and closer. alot off people including tim on this site who writes the lost articles didnt like how it ended with a bullet from kate, but it didnt end like that. it was the symbolization of jack pushing him off a cliff, like when lockes father pushed him out the window. and now to the edning. when jacks father said to jack "what are you doing here" i knew this is where the twist would be revealed. i thought it was fitting that all the loved ones from the island got to be with eachother(but why was penny there? oh well) and the final moments with chrisrtian opening the door (symbolizing heavens gate?) and filled the room with light, and of course jacks closing eye, ending it with how it started was so nice of an ending, very happy for a cast who have been beaten and lost loved ones though the six years. and btw tim, ill miss your articles too. now i know that die hard fans wont listen to what i have said cuz i gace it a 10, but think about this. forget about all the things that wasnt answered and think about only the stuff in the finale. did it excite you? did it move you?
  • Awesome!

    10
    Everything about the finale raised the bar several notches. This was the series finale, but it was also a season finale so it tied up the season 6 questions while using that medium to give closure to the rest of the story. To me, it was genius to leave it open ended because I really didn't think the answers would ever be better than the questions that LOST has raised over the years. It's so much more fun to have a theory about this show rather than to be told what the writers think. I like how LOST has given each season a very different feel. They are all unique and not just trying to repeat past success. Season 6 was really great!
  • Cried my eyes out with this amazing episode, and everyone wanna watch this one, should see every single episode of lost

    10
    How everyone in lost meets, how they gather, memories, amazing ending indeed. Never saw something like it and i might not. This episode of lost had so much surprises and lots of warm feelings, connection and love.
    Shocking to viewer how reality and another life can meet and present so much more than a story.
    never wrote a review on episode but for this one i did and i would over and over again.

    Thanks Lost Creators and writers, Thank you for your work in this wonderful amazing story. No words will describe how much i enjoy this episode and hope to see more like this.
  • Awesome End!

    10
    Wow, there are no words to describe how amazing this episode is. LOST has always been awesome, this episode is a work of art. It's funny because some people are crying about the answers to certain Island mysteries or whatever, but what they fail to see is the Island for the trees. This will long be remembered as one of the most poignant, amazingly acted, brilliantly written couple hours that tv has ever seen. I would imagine it will clean up at the awards this year for acting, writing, and directing. There simply has not been anything in it's class on tv this decade, maybe ever.
  • It was so great!

    10
    It's funny because to me there is no other way this show could have ended better. And when the people who didn't like it offer up their ideas about how the show should have ended I think their ideas seem so silly and nowhere near as brilliant compared to the amazing ending that we saw on the screen.

    I think it's not a matter of understanding the story, most of the negative reviewers understood the basic story...it's a matter of where you are at in life and how you understand the issues that this finale offered up.

    You have to admire a show that meant so many different things to so many different people. If the previous reviewer got the ending they wanted, I would have been one of the pissed off people crying foul...to each their own, but to me LOST was perfect in every way from start to finish!
  • big on emotions, extremely weak on storyline

    2.0
    The series finale was very much focused on the characters and big emotions. There were some nice scenic views of the island, the action was pretty decent, and the acting was ok too. But even so that does not make it a good episode, when the plot gets kicked into the bucket.

    The "alternative storyline", as I used to call it, turns into a tool for the writers to reunite the cast and provide flashbacks for some of the most memorable moments of the series. The revelation, that they were all dead, was a huge disappointment for me. I had hoped to see how this part of the storyline was linked with the island story, when it turns out that it really isn't. (Hugo voice: "Dude, they're like... already dead. So who cares?") With that half of the 6th season dissolved into plot-irrelevant post-mortem vapor.

    But okay, there's still the alive-and-kicking island plot. Well. I had kind of liked the explaination of the bottle and the cork for the island we had seen previously. It was vague, but it made me think and stimulated my imagination. Then Desmond went down into the shiny hole and literally pulled the plug. With that not only some water, but also the storytelling with its imaginative twists and turns went down the drain. The plot eventually hits rock bottom shortly after Jack does when he puts the plug back in and thereby saves the island. I was struck with awe as I watched it, but only because I simply could not believe this was really the best the writers could come up with. So basically the finale ruined both story lines for me. Still I do not give it a 1.0. There are some minor bright sides and ways it could have been even worse:
    - Rose and Bernard survive and live happily on the island
    - Jack does not display any magical powers due to his becoming Jacob's successor
    - John "Black Smokey" Locke becomes mortal and gets what he deserves
  • Awesome...

    10
    Wow...great finale...really tied things up well. The end was surprisingly powerful too. How the journey of life came full circle made the show so much more that just a mystery science fiction show...instead it gave it the kind of story arc in the realm of Lord of The RIngs and classic literature stories. I think that over time this finale will age very well, it's basically classic in every way. This show was super popular with young people and college students and I can imagine that some of the themes this episode brought up, those of life and death and what it all means, may have been lost on an age group that has not had to face a lot of death yet, but this very mature, very human story is an amazing service to our culture, it's rare and precious for modern art to deal with these themes and the fact that it happened on network tv is almost un-imaginable!
  • The battle lines are drawn as Locke puts his plan into action, which could finally liberate him from the island.

    8.5
    Ok...just to say first that Lost is not mu favorite show...I've watched season one to three an the beginning of the fourth season and then I've stopped a little bit because as it is the case for a lot of people I was LOST while watching the show. So it was hard for me to understand the storylines and it was borring to not be able to fallow correctly the show because the show is well made and really original!
    So for the serie finale I've decided to watch all the seasons from the fourth to the 6th at once in order to get everything but it doesn't work...so it's with a lot of holes in the story that I've watched this season finale.
    I think the ending is nice because it's not really an happy ending with "they live happily ever after" but it wasn't dark too. It was a reflexion on the meaning of life and what is gonna after...It was a good idea.

    The best part was the last image of jack's eye closing like at the beginning of the show it starts with the same image but the eye is openning...Good idea!

    I didn't quite understand the role of the island. did what they lived there really happened? In fact for me we don't have any answers to all the problems and the questions of these 6 seasons.
  • Masterpiece!

    10
    That was so much more than I ever expected. It was a devastating epic and had the best emotional punch of anything I ever watched! It's hard to write what's on my mind right now because it's all still so fresh...but the journey has been fantastic and the ending makes the show have so much more credibility the more it sinks in. I love how open the mystery still is...I was worries that the explanations would be silly or ridiculous, but this really gave the story gravity and the ability to spawn much more thought and exploration in themes for years to come...a beautiful conclusion... I loved it!
  • Wow! Absolutely spectacular! The Lost creators achieved what I believed to be impossible. They created the most satisfying end to the best television series; past, present and future. *Does contain some spoilers*

    10
    Surprisingly, I actually think I understood the ending and could not be more relieved that the powers that be were able to end on such a high and poignant note. I think I literally cried at every "memory" and of course the end. It was so beautifully well done. Did it answer every single question? Of course not! It wouldn't be Lost if did. Now this is where the spoilers start, so STOP if you haven't watched it yet. Here's my theory: Everything that happened on the island was real. I'm thinking the sideflashes were "limbo" that they couldn't move on from until everyone from the island was there. Once Jack's father's body was "found" they were free to move on to heaven. I noticed Micheal wasn't there and I'm thinking that's because he's not going to heaven because of everything he did. He's not passing on. He's stuck on the island. Congratulations to everyone that worked so hard to make Lost consistently amazing. Here's to 6 amazing years and may Lost live on in our memories, our hearts and the forumns.
  • "The End" unraveled a story so complex, more analyzed than any other show on television, to the core of what it's been since September 22, 2004, a story of two simple concepts what it means to be lost in this world and what it means to be found

    10
    Some may have not gotten the answers they wanted after the season and after this episode? I say, you need to dig a little bit deeper if you think this show is just about a mystery. There were plenty of answers given this season and truthfully, with the significant amount provided, not everyone will be satisfied. Why? Because they were so tied up with their questions that they didn't dig deeper.

    From flashbacks to flash forwards to flash sideways, from on the island action to time-traveling, this show was about people who were "Lost" not on an island full of answers that demanded mysteries, but lost from the people they needed to be completed. The island is where they found the very people they needed to complete them, whether it was the romantic relationships Jack to Kate, Penny to Desmond, Sawyer to Juliet, Charlie to Claire, Sayid to Shannon, Hurley to Libby, ect, or the friendships they built with each other. Jacob brought these lost souls to the island to be found and in the end, achieved just that.

    So there you have it, "The End" unraveled a story so complex, more analyzed than any other show on television, to the core of what it's been since September 22, 2004, a story of two simple concepts what it means to be lost in this world and what it means to be found. Perhaps in a few days time, I'll edit this review to be more technical, more analytical. But for now I will smile more than I have in a long time and watch Jimmy Kimmel.
  • The final piece in the puzzle...but still a few too many pieces missing.

    7.0
    (This is for both Parts 1 and 2)
    This was an emotional finale. If you really care about the characters rather than the sci-fi aspect of the show and the answers to the various mysteries, you will almost definitely enjoy this. However, if you're expecting the finale to finally be the one episode that ties everything up and gives us answers to all the questions we've had all these years, you will most likely be disappointed. Now, even though I gave this a 7 out of 10, and think it was a very good episode overall, I'm going to be discussing the more negative aspects of the finale...not because I think it was largely negative but because there's so much praise already written in the 10/10 reviews that heaping more of it on would be a bit redundant.

    Basically, Season 6, including the finale, was not great for answers. I think the biggest problem with the show is that when you look at the six seasons, it feels uneven. The early seasons, specifically 1 and 2, have a distinct "feel" to them which changes a bit in Seasons 3, 4 and 5 but the change wasn't too radical...the majority of the time it still felt like Lost and held most of its original intrigue. Then Season 6 comes along and the show takes off in an entirely new direction and loses that distinct "Lost-y" type feel. You get little glimpses of classic Lost throughout S6 but for the most part it feels just too...separate. Season 6, as well as the ending of the entire series as a whole, deals almost exclusively with material and situations we are JUST NOW learning about, and largely dismissing much of the plot of the earlier seasons. Enormous roles are placed on two characters we only just met (Jacob and MIB) and the flash-sideways (won't write any spoilers about what it really is) is something we never knew about or would have imagined throughout the first five seasons.

    I think that's my biggest problem with the finale...most of it is dealing with new situations, scenarios and characters. It doesn't feel like it's really tying up the ends of the earlier seasons. It works great for tying up Season 6, but not so well for the series as a whole. Since this show deals so heavily with mystery and unanswered questions, I guess I sort of anticipated the finale to finally be the episode that solved those mysteries and answered those questions. But for the most part, it didn't. Imagine you have never seen any of Season 6. Then imagine you have just watched all of Seasons 1 through 5 back to back, followed by the Series Finale at the end. You would have almost no idea what was going on, and that's because so much is based on S6 plot and material and so little is based on the bulk of the show, S1-S5.

    I still rated this a 7/10 though, and that's because of the characters. For them, I really did feel like it was a satisfying ending. As far as emotions go, as far as character depth goes, as far as acting goes and as far as the place everyone winds up, this was excellent. If you didn't cry at least once in this episode you have either never watched the show before or you are a zombie. Now, most everyone that disagrees with the critics of the last season (and probably most of the people that will disagree with this review) uses the rationale that "it's about the characters, not the answers." Can't it be about both? The combination of the two is what makes this series so great, since it simultaneously works so well as both an emotionally gripping character study and as a very captivating sci-fi mystery. The finale most definitely delivered on the first part, but not entirely on the second. The finale (and ultimately the series) leaves much up for interpretation; this is not a bad concept by any means, I just think that there was a bit too much left open at the very end. However, I'm still very thankful for this episode as well as this season; they were a pivotal and necessary piece in the puzzle...I just think there are a few too many other puzzle pieces missing to get a truly gratifying finished product.

    Regardless of any negativity or criticism voiced in this review however, this show will still most definitely go down in history as one of the all-time greats, and deservedly so. It will be sorely missed.
  • Full of sound and fury--signifying nothing.

    1.0
    I came to the final episodes with very low expectations; I was ready to be blown away by any kind of plausibly impressive conclusion. What I got was more of what kept me disinterested throughout this season: scene after scene of cloying sentimentality backed by overwrought string orchestrations. I really thought they were going somewhere with the slow reunion of all the characters in the alt-universe. What I got was an absurd reunion of only some of the characters--many of whom were not even central to the storyline. Notable absences included Michael and Walt--the two people around whom the early portion of the series seemed to revolve (yah, yah they left the island). Good thing Shannon was there though--she was such a vital character. Ultimately, it didn't matter who was in the alt-universe reunion because it made no sense, was of no importance to the "real" island, and only served as a distraction for the whole season. I stopped my purchase of the Lost season DVDs with 3, and I have no reason to reconsider that decision. I wish they could have done better.
  • Hard to say goodbye

    10
    [Part 1]

    And so this is IT. I don't even know how to write this and what to say. After 6 years of watching and waiting for the end it's just strange to think that this was THE finale.

    I am in love with almost every second of both parts of the episode. The first part finally revealed what Desmond was supposed to do. It seems that the Light is the source of the electromagnetism of the Island and so Desmond was the only one who could enter it without dying (being teleported, becoming smokey - interpret however you want). And so the "cork" metaphor actually had real meaning on the Island. Removing it made (how to put this) "all the sci-fi and mystery elements go away" - so no rules, no immortality and so on. The results of this are in the second part of the episode.

    Then the "sideways". When I saw Juliet I just started screaming: "Finally!!" God, I missed her so much. Of course it was very clear that she was David's mother, so it wasn't a big surprise. But it was nice to see it revealed. The scene with her, Jin and Sun was one of the most beautiful LOST scenes ever.

    The second such scene of course was with Kate, Claire and Charlie. That was the sweetest thing and couldn't have imagined it any better.

    [Part 2 - The End 2]
< 1 2
Wednesday
No results found.
Thursday
No results found.
Friday
No results found.
More
Less