Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries

ABC1 (ended 2015)


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
72 votes

By TV.com Users

Write A Review

Featured Article

Show Summary

The series is based on author Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher Murder Mystery novels and was created by Deb Cox and Fiona Eagger. Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries revolves around the personal and professional life of Phryne Fisher (Essie Davis), a glamorous private detective in 1920's Melbourne.

Miss Phryne Fisher, an adventurous flapper girl of the 1920s, returns to her home in Australia after traveling around the world to prevent the alleged murderer of her sister, Jane, from being set free from prison. She solves a murder (and several attempted ones) revolving around the home of her cousin and decides to become a 'lady detective'. She has a few servants (two chauffeurs, a butler and a maid whom she treats as her companion) that help her to solve the crimes.

A beautifully made detective series in the tradition of the famous crime novels of the Detection Club (Agatha Christie, G. K. Chesterton, Dorothy L. Sayers, etc.).

Rather than use television to continue the series for a fourth season, a stand alone action, adventure feature film, Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears, was made that will pick up the story from the end of the third series. Production began in October 2018 and wrapped production in November. The film will have a limited theatrical release in North America and will be be released in Australia in 2020.

A spin-off series, Ms Fisher's MODern Murder Mysteries, set in the 1960s, features a "Ms" Fisher - Phryne's niece Peregrine - for a new generation. The new series debuted on Australia's Channel 7 on February 29, 2019.


More Info About This Show