MTV Unplugged

Season 4 Episode 8

10,000 Maniacs

Aired Friday 10:00 PM Jun 01, 1993 on MTV - Music Television
out of 10
User Rating
8 votes

By Users

Write A Review

Episode Summary

10,000 Maniacs
"MTV Unplugged" presents the ethereal folk-rock sound of 10,000 Maniacs. The band began performing around upstate New York in the early '80s, incorporating English rock and island rhythm influences with elements of country, bluegrass and folk. In 1985, 10,000 Maniacs released The Wishing Chair, one of the year's most critically-lauded releases with special acclaim going to lyricist/singer Natalie Merchant. This was followed by the 1987 platinum release In My Tribe, which brought the group an international mass audience, and the 1989 album Blind Man's Zoo. 10,000 Maniacs is comprised of Natalie Merchant (lead vocals), Jerome Augustyniak (drums), Robert Buck (guitar), Dennis Drew (Keyboards) and Steven Gustafson (bass). Their "Unplugged" selections include "These Are Days," "Candy Everybody Wants," "Dallas" (with David Byrne), "Like The Weather," and "What's The Matter Here." Recorded 4/21/93 at Sony Music Studio - NYC Set List: 01. How You've Grown 02. Noah's Dove 03. These Are Days 04. Eat For Two 05. Candy Everybody Wants 06. I'm Not The Man 07. Don't Talk 08. Hey Jack Kerouac 09. What's The Matter Here? 10. Gold Rush Brides 11. Like The Weather 12. Trouble Me 13. Jezebel 14. Stockton Gala Days 15. Because the Night 16. Let The Mystery Be [with David Byrne] 17. Dallas [with David Byrne] 18. Jolene [with David Byrne]moreless

Who was the Episode MVP ?

Episode Discussion

Join the discussion of this episode Episode Discussion

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions

See All Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions Trivia & Quotes