Neon Genesis Evangelion Forums

Cartoon Network (ended 1996)

Live Action Movie Discussion

StarlightMaker

[1]Aug 24, 2005
    • level: 33
    That's right! I just found out today (through a nice lady who worked at Suncoast while I was getting the third Platinum Edition DVD of our favorite anime) that there is talks of a Neon Genesis Evangelion movie under way! So, I decided to do some research, and it is apparently true! Click here:

http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/article.php?id=3608

Of course, this may not be news to some of you hardcore fans, but I'm just getting into the show, so I was surprised! I'm actually lookng forward to it. The "dream team," so to speak, seems really impressive. I'm happy with the team that will be handling the graphics because they have been working for Academy Award-winner Peter Jackson on projects such as The Lord of the Rings trilogy and the new King Kong movie!! What does everyone else thing about this??

Also: I saw somewhere through a Yahoo! search that some people think that the movie is being too westernized (read the article through the link above for more details)! I don't think so. In fact, I like the idea. =D
    Edited on 04/01/2006 12:11pm
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

Chiroptera_Rex

[2]Aug 25, 2005
    • level: 50
    Well, the information is over 2 years old now. There is an interview with Weta on The End of Evangelion DVD, but so far that's as much as I've heard about it, and that interview is over 3 years old. There's been a lot of speculation on ANN's boards about this and most of it deals with the fact that there has been no real news on the project since it was first announced. Weta's site for the film says that the project is "on hold."