Super Bowl

Season 5 Episode 1

Super Bowl V - Baltimore Colts vs. Dallas Cowboys

Aired Sunday 3:15 PM Jan 17, 1971 on CBS
out of 10
User Rating
3 votes

By Users

Episode Summary

Super Bowl V - Baltimore Colts vs. Dallas Cowboys

Super Bowl V, the first of the post AFL-NFL merger era, between the AFC Champion Baltimore Colts and the NFC Champion Dallas Cowboys at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida.
Final Score: Baltimore Colts 16 Dallas Cowboys 13

Who was the Episode MVP ?

No results found.
No results found.
No results found.
    Kyle Rote

    Kyle Rote

    Color Commentator

    Guest Star

    Bill Enis

    Bill Enis

    Sideline Reporter / Trophy Presentation

    Guest Star

    Jay Randolph

    Jay Randolph

    Pregame Host

    Guest Star

    Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions


    • TRIVIA (13)

      • Final Score
        Baltimore Colts 16
        Dallas Cowboys 13

      • Dallas Cowboys Outside Linebacker Chuck Howley was named Super Bowl V MVP. It marks the first and only time in the 20th century that an MVP played for the losing team.

      • Coaches
        Baltimore Colts
        Don McCafferty (Head Coach) (1-0 in Super Bowls)
        Dick Bielski (Offensive Ends)
        Bob Boyd (Defensive Backfield)
        Hank Bullough (Linebackers)
        John Idzik (Offense)
        Lou Rymkus (Offensive Line)
        John Sandusky (Line Coach)

        Dallas Cowboys
        Tom Landry (Head Coach) (0-1 in Super Bowls)
        Ermal Allen (Special Assistant)
        Bobby Franklin (Defensive Backfield)
        Jim Myers (Offensive Line)
        Dan Reeves (Offensive Backfield)
        Ray Renfro (Receivers and Pass Offense)
        Ernie Stautner (Defensive Line)
        Jerry Tubbs (Linebackers)

      • Path to the Super Bowl
        Baltimore Colts
        AFC East Champions (11-2-1)
        Divisional Playoff: defeated AFC Central Champion Cincinnati Bengals 17-0.
        Championship Game: defeated AFC West Champion Oakland Raiders 27-17.

        Dallas Cowboys

        NFC East Champions (10-4)
        Divisional Playoff: defeated Wild Card Detroit Lions 5-0.
        Championship Game: defeated NFC West Champion San Francisco 49ers 17-10.

      • The victory improved the Baltimore Colts' franchise Super Bowl record to 1-1.
        This is the Dallas Cowboys first appearance in the Super Bowl.

      • This is the third Super Bowl to be played at the Orange Bowl. The facility also hosted Super Bowls II and III.

      • The Baltimore Colts received a winner's share of $15,000. The Dallas Cowboys received a loser's share of $7,500.

      • The average cost of a 30-second commercial was $72,000.

      • The face value of Super Bowl V tickets was $15.

      • Baltimore was designated the home team for Super Bowl V. They wore white jerseys and white pants while Dallas wore blue jerseys and silver pants.

      • The Baltimore Colts were 2.5 point favorites.

      • This starts a little link for Super Bowl champions. The losing team of this Super Bowl (Dallas Cowboys) goes on to win Super Bowl VI. And the losing team of Super Bowl VI (Miami Dolphins) goes on to win Super Bowl VII.

      • Super Bowl V was the first Super bowl in which the AFC and NFC played against each other. Before the merger, it was AFL versus the NFL.

    • QUOTES (0)

    • NOTES (3)

      • Super Bowl Rosters
        Baltimore Colts

        #73 Sam Ball (T)
        #36 Norm Bulaich (RB) *
        #50 Bill Curry (C) *
        #32 Mike Curtis (MLB) *
        #35 Jim Duncan (RCB) *
        #30 Ron Gardin (CB)
        #53 Tom Goode (C)
        #51 Bob Grant (LB)
        #17 Sam Havrilak (RB)
        #83 Ted Hendricks (ROLB) *
        #45 Gerald Hill (RB)
        #85 Roy Hilton (RDE) *
        #33 Eddie Hinton (WR) *
        #87 Roy Jefferson (WR) *
        #61 Cornelius Johnson (G)
        #49 David Lee (P)
        #20 Jerry Logan (SS) *
        #88 John Mackey (TE) *
        #40 Jack Maitland (RB)
        #42 Tom Maxwell (CB)
        #56 Ray May (LOLB) *
        #76 Fred Miller (RDT) *
        #84 Tom Mitchell (TE)
        #15 Earl Morrall (QB)
        #81 Billy Newsome (DE)
        #52 Robbie Nichols (LB)
        #34 Tom Nowatzke (RB) *
        #80 Jim O'Brien (K/WR)
        #28 Jimmy Orr (WR) (DNP)
        #27 Ray Perkins (WR)
        #62 Glenn Ressler (LG) *
        #74 Billy Ray Smith, Sr. (LDT) *
        #78 Bubba Smith (LDE) *
        #47 Charles Stukes (LCB) *
        #71 Dan Sullivan (RG) *
        #19 Johnny Unitas (QB) *
        #72 Bob Vogel (LT) *
        #21 Rick Volk (FS) *
        #75 John Williams (RG) *
        #60 George Wright (DT) (DNP)

        Dallas Cowboys
        #26 Herb Adderley (LCB) *
        #66 George Andrie (LDE) *
        #78 Bob Asher (T)
        #83 Mike Clark (K)
        #63 Larry Cole (LDE) *
        #89 Mike Ditka (TE)
        #77 Ron East (DT)
        #52 Dave Edwards (LOLB) *
        #45 Richmond Flowers (S)
        #32 Walt Garrison (RB) *
        #34 Cornell Green (SS) *
        #43 Cliff Harris (S)
        #22 Bob Hayes (WR) *
        #35 Calvin Hill (RB)
        #24 Dennis Homan (WR)
        #54 Chuck Howley (ROLB) *
        #55 Lee Roy Jordan (MLB) *
        #60 Steve Kiner (LB)
        #50 D.D. Lewis (LB)
        #74 Bob Lilly (LDT) *
        #72 Tony Liscio (T) (DNP)
        #51 Dave Manders (C) *
        #14 Craig Morton (QB) *
        #73 Ralph Neely (LT) *
        #76 John Niland (LG) *
        #84 Pettis Norman (TE) *
        #61 Blaine Nye (RG) *
        #75 Jethro Pugh (LDT) *
        #30 Dan Reeves (RB)
        #20 Mel Renfro (RCB) *
        #88 Reggie Rucker (WR) *
        #12 Roger Staubach (QB) (DNP)
        #56 Tom Stincic (LB)
        #33 Duane Thomas (RB) *
        #67 Pat Toomay (DE)
        #46 Mark Washington (CB)
        #41 Charlie Waters (FS) *
        #42 Claxton Welch (RB)
        #10 Ron Widby (P)
        #70 Rayfield Wright (RT) *

        * Starters
        DNP - Did Not Play

      • Referee: Norm Schachter (56) (coin toss)
        Umpire: Paul Trepinski (22)
        Head Linesman: Ed Marion (26)
        Line Judge: Jack Fette (39)
        Field Judge: Fritz Graf (34)
        Back Judge: Hugh Gamber (70)

      • Super Bowl V Entertainment:
        Pregame: Southern University & Northeast Missouri College Bands
        Anthem: Trumpeter Tommy Loy
        Half Time: Florida A&M Band

    • ALLUSIONS (0)