Super Bowl

Season 15 Episode 1

Super Bowl XV - Oakland Raiders vs. Philadelphia Eagles

Aired Sunday 3:15 PM Jan 25, 1981 on CBS
out of 10
User Rating
6 votes

By Users

Episode Summary

Super Bowl XV - Oakland Raiders vs. Philadelphia Eagles

Super Bowl XV between the AFC Champion Oakland Raiders and the NFC Champion Philadelphia Eagles at the Louisiana Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana.
Final Score: Oakland Raiders 27 Philadelphia Eagles 10

Who was the Episode MVP ?

No results found.
No results found.
No results found.
  • Two of my least favorite teams go head to head in Super Bowl XL.

    This was a time when I hated footall, but now I love it and I've done enough research on Super Bowl XL to finally write a review of it. Well... not much. I don't like the Pittsburgh Steelers much: beat my favorite team, the Cowboys twice in the Super Bowl already. The Seahawks as well who also beat the Cowboys twice in the 2006-2007 season: once in the preseason, and the other in the playoffs. I don't like the quarterback, [Matt Hasselback] or running back, [Shawn Alexander] for the Seattle Seahawks, so I guess I'd go with the Steelers on this one, though they were dominate over the Cowboys in the games that counted, but oh well. This Super Bowl was okay, according to my calculations, and research.moreless

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions


  • TRIVIA (13)

    • Final Score:
      Oakland Raiders 27
      Philadelphia Eagles 10

    • Oakland Raiders Quarterback Jim Plunkett was named Super Bowl XV MVP.

    • Coaching Staffs
      Oakland Raiders
      Tom Flores (Head Coach) (1-0 in Super Bowls)
      Sam Boghosian (Offensive Line)
      Willie Brown (Special Assistant)
      Lew Erber (Receivers)
      Chet Franklin (Defensive Backs)
      Earl Leggett (Defensive Line)
      Joe Madro (Assistant Head Coach)
      Bob Mischak (Strength & Conditioning)
      Steve Ortmayer (Special Teams)
      Charlie Sumner (Linebackers)
      Ray Willsey (Offensive Backs)

      Philadelphia Eagles
      Dick Vermeil (Head Coach) (0-1 in Super Bowls)
      Chuck Bednarik (Honorary Coach)
      Fred Bruney (Defensive Backfield)
      Marion Campbell (Defensive Coordinator)
      Chuck Clausen (Defensive Line)
      Dick Coury (Wide Receivers)
      Sid Gillman (Quarterbacks / Research & Development)
      George Hill (Linebackers)
      Ken Iman (Offensive Line)
      Billy Joe (Running Backs)
      Lynn Stiles (Special Teams / Tight Ends)
      Jerry Wampfler (Offensive Line / Running Game)

    • Path to the Super Bowl
      Oakland Raiders
      AFC Wild Card (11-5)
      Wild Card Round: defeated Wild Card Houston Oilers 27-7.
      Divisional Playoff: defeated AFC Central Champion Cleveland Browns 14-12.
      Championship Game: defeated AFC West Champion San Diego Chargers 34-27.

      Philadelphia Eagles
      NFC East Champions (12-4)
      Divisional Playoff: defeated NFC Central Champion Minnesota Vikings 31-16.
      Championship Game: defeated NFC East Champion Dallas Cowboys 20-7.

    • The victory improved the Oakland Raiders' franchise Super Bowl record to 2-1.
      This is the Philadelphia Eagles first appearance in the Super Bowl.

    • The coin toss was performed by Marie Lombardi, widow of Vince Lombardi, after whom the Super Bowl trophy was named in 1970.

    • This is the second Super Bowl to be played at the Louisiana Superdome. The facility also hosted Super Bowl XII.

    • The Oakland Raiders received a winner's share of $18,000. The Philadelphia Eagles received a loser's share of $9,000.

    • The average cost of a 30-second commercial was $324,300.

    • The face value of Super Bowl XV tickets was $40.

    • Philadelphia was designated the home team for Super Bowl XV. They wore green jerseys and silver pants while Oakland wore white jerseys and silver pants.

    • The Philadelphia Eagles were 3 point favorites.

    • Oakland became the first wildcard (non Division winner) team to win a Super Bowl thus also becoming the first team to win three playoff games to qualify for the Super Bowl.

  • QUOTES (0)

  • NOTES (3)

    • Super Bowl Rosters
      Oakland Raiders
      #10 Chris Bahr (K)
      #56 Jeff Barnes (LB)
      #81 Morris Bradshaw (WR)
      #21 Cliff Branch (WR) *
      #73 Dave Browning (RDE) *
      #77 Joe Campbell (DE/NT)
      #52 Mario Celotto (LB)
      #85 Bob Chandler (WR) *
      #88 Raymond Chester (TE) *
      #46 Todd Christensen (TE/RB)
      #50 Dave Dalby (C) *
      #79 Bruce Davis (G/T)
      #36 Mike Davis (SS) *
      #8 Ray Guy (P)
      #86 Cedrick Hardman (DE)
      #37 Lester Hayes (LCB) *
      #83 Ted Hendricks (LOLB) *
      #42 Monte Jackson (CB)
      #31 Derrick Jensen (RB)
      #90 Willie Jones (DE)
      #33 Kenny King (RB) *
      #62 Reggie Kinlaw (NT) *
      #70 Henry Lawrence (RT) *
      #53 Rod Martin (ROLB) *
      #89 Rich Martini (WR)
      #65 Mickey Marvin (RG) *
      #71 Lindsey Mason (T/G)
      #43 Ira Matthews (KR/WR/RB)
      #72 John Matuszak (LDE) *
      #57 Randy McClanahan (LB)
      #23 Odis McKinney (CB)
      #55 Matt Millen (LILB) *
      #26 Keith Moody (CB/KR)
      #51 Bob L. Nelson (RILB) *
      #35 Dwayne O'Steen (RCB) *
      #44 Burgess Owens (FS) *
      #74 Dave Pear (NT)
      #16 Jim Plunkett (QB) *
      #84 Derrick Ramsey (TE)
      #78 Art Shell (LT) *
      #66 Steve Sylvester (G/C)
      #63 Gene Upshaw (LG) *
      #30 Mark van Eeghen (RB) *
      #22 Art Whittington (RB)
      #6 Marc Wilson (QB) (DNP)

      Philadelphia Eagles
      #63 Ron Baker (G)
      #66 Bill Bergey (LILB) *
      #27 Richard Blackmore (CB)
      #97 Thomas Brown (DE)
      #95 John Bunting (LOLB) *
      #37 Billy Campfield (RB)
      #17 Harold Carmichael (WR) *
      #59 Al Chesley (LB)
      #71 Ken Clarke (NT)
      #46 Herman Edwards (RCB) *
      #1 Tony Franklin (K)
      #33 Louie Giammona (RB/KR)
      #78 Carl Hairston (RDE) *
      #35 Perry Harrington (RB)
      #20 Leroy Harris (RB) *
      #68 Dennis Harrison (LDE) *
      #24 Zac Henderson (S)
      #89 Wally Henry (WR/KR)
      #16 Bob Hertel (QB) (DNP)
      #87 Claude Humphrey (DE)
      #7 Ron Jaworski (QB) *
      #65 Charlie Johnson (NT) *
      #73 Steve Kenney (T)
      #84 Keith Krepfle (TE) *
      #55 Frank LeMaster (RILB) *
      #41 Randy Logan (SS) *
      #31 Wilbert Montgomery (RB) *
      #50 Guy Morriss (C) *
      #83 Rod Parker (WR)
      #69 Woody Peoples (RG) *
      #62 Petey Perot (LG) *
      #52 Raymond Phillips (LB)
      #9 Joe Pisarcik (QB) (DNP)
      #56 Jerry D. Robinson (ROLB) *
      #4 Max Runager (P)
      #21 John Sciarra (S/KR)
      #76 Jerry Sisemore (RT) *
      #61 Mark Slater (C)
      #85 Charles A. Smith (WR)
      #88 John Spagnola (TE) *
      #39 Robert Torrey (RB) (DNP)
      #75 Stan Walters (LT) *
      #51 Reggie Wilkes (LB)
      #22 Brenard Wilson (FS) *
      #43 Roynell Young (LCB) *

      * Starters
      DNP - Did Not Play

    • Referee: Ben Dreith (12)
      Umpire: Frank Sinkovitz (20)
      Head Linesman: Tony Veteri Sr. (8)
      Line Judge: Tom Dooley (10)
      Field Judge: Fritz Graf (17)
      Side Judge: Dean Look (9)
      Back Judge: Tom Kelleher (7)

      Alternate Referee: Dick Jorgensen (6)
      Alternate Umpire: John Keck (4)

    • Super Bowl XV Entertainment:
      Pregame: Southern University, including a tribute to the Iran hostages
      Anthem: Helen O'Connell
      Half Time: Mardi Gras Festival with Helen O'Connell and the Southern University Band (produced by Jim Skinner)