Super Bowl

Season 26 Episode 1

Super Bowl XXVI - Washington Redskins vs. Buffalo Bills

Aired Sunday 3:15 PM Jan 26, 1992 on CBS
out of 10
User Rating
4 votes

By Users

Episode Summary

Super Bowl XXVI - Washington Redskins vs. Buffalo Bills

Super Bowl XXVI between the NFC Champion Washington Redskins and the AFC Champion Buffalo Bills at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
Final Score: Washington Redskins 37 Buffalo Bills 24

Who was the Episode MVP ?

No results found.
No results found.
No results found.
  • this was a good supebowl

    in this superbowl the redskins were taking on the bufflow bills the redskins were tring to win a superbowl and so were the bufflow bills they had lost one already and were trying to get there. in this second matchup and the lead went back and forth and then the bufflow bills lost and the heartake became even more for a team that lost another 2 in a row this was bad and the redskins made there dream even more real .hold the trophy up and this was a good matchup and this is why i gave it the rating i gave it.moreless
Pat Summerall

Pat Summerall

Play-By-Play Announcer

John Madden (II)

John Madden (II)

Color Commentator

Lesley Visser

Lesley Visser

Pregame Contributor / Sideline Reporter / Trophy Presentation

Greg Gumbel

Greg Gumbel

Pregame Host

Terry Bradshaw

Terry Bradshaw

Pregame Analyst

Pat O'Brien

Pat O'Brien

Pregame Contributor / Sideline Reporter

Guest Star

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions


  • TRIVIA (12)

    • Final Score
      Washington Redskins 37
      Buffalo Bills 24

    • Washington Redskins Quarterback Mark Rypien was named Super Bowl XXVI MVP.

    • Coaching Staffs
      Washington Redskins
      Joe Gibbs (Head Coach) (3-1 in Super Bowls)
      Don Breaux (Running Backs)
      Jack Burns (Quarterbacks)
      Bobby DePaul (Administration / Defensive Assistant)
      Rod Dowhower (Offensive Assistant / Passing Game)
      Jim Hanifan (Offensive Line)
      Larry Peccatiello (Defensive Coordinator)
      Richie Petitbon (Assistant Head Coach - Defense)
      Dan Riley (Conditioning)
      Wayne Sevier (Special Teams)
      Warren Simmons (Tight Ends)
      Charley Taylor (Wide Receivers)
      Emmitt Thomas (Defensive Backs)
      LaVern Torgeson (Defensive Line)
      Steve Wetzel (Assistant Strength)

      Buffalo Bills
      Marv Levy (Head Coach) (0-2 in Super Bowls)
      Tom Bresnahan (Offensive Line)
      Walt Corey (Defensive Coordinator / Linebackers)
      Bruce DeHaven (Special Teams)
      Chuck Dickerson (Defensive Line)
      Rusty Jones (Strength & Conditioning)
      Don Lawrence (Offensive Quality Control / Tight Ends)
      Chuck Lester (Defensive Quality Control)
      Ted Marchibroda (Offensive Coordinator)
      Nick Nicolau (Receivers)
      Elijah Pitts (Running Backs)
      Dick Roach (Defensive Backs)

    • Path to the Super Bowl
      Washington Redskins
      NFC East Champions (14-2)
      Divisional Playoff: defeated Wild Card Atlanta Falcons 24-7.
      Championship Game: defeated NFC Central Champion Detroit Lions 41-10.

      Buffalo Bills
      AFC East Champions (13-3)
      Divisional Playoff: defeated Wild Card Kansas City Chiefs 37 14.
      Championship Game: defeated AFC West Champion Denver Broncos 10 7.

    • The victory improved the Washington Redskins' franchise Super Bowl record to 3-2.
      The loss dropped the Buffalo Bills' franchise Super Bowl record to 0-2.

    • The coin toss was performed by Chuck Noll. Washington called Heads and won the toss. They elected to receive.

    • The Washington Redskins received a winner's share of $36,000. The Buffalo Bills received a loser's share of $18,000.

    • The average cost of a 30-second commercial was $800,000.

    • The face value of Super Bowl XXVI tickets was $150.

    • Buffalo was designated the home team for Super Bowl XXVI. They wore blue jerseys and white pants while Washington wore white jerseys and burgundy pants.

    • The Washington Redskins were 7 point favorites.

    • The attendance of 63,130 was the second smallest crowd in Super Bowl history ahead of only Super Bowl I (61,946).

  • QUOTES (0)

  • NOTES (3)

    • Super Bowl Rosters
      Washington Redskins
      #61 Mark Adickes (G)
      #53 Jeff Bostic (C) *
      #82 John Brandes (TE)
      #99 Jason Buck (DE)
      #21 Earnest Byner (RB) *
      #50 Ravin Caldwell (LB)
      #84 Gary Clark (WR) *
      #51 Monte Coleman (LB)
      #55 Andre Collins (ROLB) *
      #26 Danny Copeland (SS) *
      #27 Brad Edwards (FS) *
      #32 Ricky Ervins (RB)
      #97 James Geathers (DT)
      #2 Kelly Goodburn (P)
      #54 Kurt Gouveia (MLB) *
      #28 Darrell Green (RCB) *
      #68 Russ Grimm (G)
      #34 Terry Hoage (DB)
      #86 Stephen Hobbs (WR)
      #66 Joe Jacoby (RT) *
      #88 James Jenkins (TE)
      #47 Anthony (A.J.) Johnson (CB)
      #45 Sidney Johnson (CB)
      #78 Tim Johnson (RDT) *
      #79 Jim Lachey (LT) *
      #8 Chip Lohmiller (K)
      #71 Charles Mann (LDE) *
      #58 Wilber Marshall (LOLB) *
      #35 Martin Mayhew (LCB) *
      #20 Alvoid Mays (CB)
      #63 Raleigh McKenzie (LG) *
      #87 Ron Middleton (TE) *
      #30 Brian Mitchell (RB)
      #81 Art Monk (WR) *
      #89 Terry Orr (TE)
      #37 Gerald Riggs (RB)
      #10 Jeff Rutledge (QB)
      #11 Mark Rypien (QB) *
      #83 Ricky Sanders (WR)
      #69 Mark Schlereth (RG) *
      #76 Ed Simmons (T)
      #60 Fred Stokes (RDE) *
      #85 Don Warren (TE) *
      #75 Eric Williams (LDT) *
      #94 Bobby Wilson (DT)
      #16 Stan Humphries (QB)
      #57 Matt Millen (LB)

      Buffalo Bills
      #54 Carlton Bailey (RILB) *
      #75 Howard Ballard (RT) *
      #82 Don Beebe (WR)
      #97 Cornelius Bennett (LOLB) *
      #50 Ray Bentley (LB)
      #58 Shane Conlan (LILB) *
      #5 Brad Daluiso (K)
      #23 Kenneth Davis (RB) *
      #45 Dwight Drane (SS) *
      #85 Al Edwards (WR)
      #59 Mitch Frerotte (C/T)
      #35 Carwell Gardner (RB)
      #99 Hal Garner (LB)
      #26 Chris Hale (CB)
      #90 Phil Hansen (DE)
      #27 Clifford Hicks (CB)
      #67 Kent Hull (C) *
      #47 Kirby Jackson (LCB) *
      #20 Henry Jones (S)
      #12 Jim Kelly (QB) *
      #38 Mark Kelso (FS) *
      #63 Adam Lingner (C)
      #73 Mike Lodish (NT)
      #80 James Lofton (WR) *
      #84 Keith McKeller (TE) *
      #88 Pete Metzelaars (TE) *
      #9 Chris Mohr (P)
      #11 Scott Norwood (K)
      #37 Nate Odomes (RCB) *
      #74 Glenn Parker (RG) *
      #53 Marvcus Patton (LB)
      #94 Mark Pike (DE)
      #83 Andre Reed (WR) *
      #14 Frank Reich (QB)
      #51 Jim Ritcher (LG) *
      #87 Butch Rolle (TE)
      #96 Leon Seals (LDE) *
      #78 Bruce Smith (RDE) *
      #79 Joe Staysniak (G/T)
      #56 Darryl Talley (ROLB) *
      #89 Steve Tasker (WR)
      #34 Thurman Thomas (RB)
      #31 James Williams (CB)
      #69 Will Wolford (LT) *
      #91 Jeff Wright (NT) *
      #64 Mike Brennan (T)
      #7 Gale Gilbert (QB)

      * Starters

    • Referee: Jerry Markbreit (9)
      Umpire: Bob Boylston (101)
      Head Linesman: Dale Williams (8)
      Line Judge: Ron Blum (83)
      Field Judge: Paul Baetz (22)
      Side Judge: Dick Creed (61)
      Back Judge: Ed Merrifield (76)

    • Super Bowl XXVI Entertainment:
      Pregame: Showcase of local Minnesota youth including Metropolitan Boys Choir, Twin Cities Youth Symphonies, local marching bands and jazz group Moore by Four
      Anthem: Harry Connick, Jr. (American Sign Language performance by Lori Hilary)
      Half Time: Winter Magic with Gloria Estefan, Brian Boitano and Dorothy Hamill (produced by Timberline Productions)

      Half Time Program: Walking in a Winter Wonderland, Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, One Moment in Time, Live for Loving You (Gloria Estefan) and Get on Your Feet (Gloria Estefan)


  • 8:00 pm
    The Bachelorette
  • 10:00 pm
    Mistresses Blurred Lines