ITV (ended 2010)




User Rating
90 votes

By TV.com Users

Write A Review

Show Summary

Welcome to the Taggart guide at TV.com.

In the early 1980s, Robert Love, Controller of Drama at Scottish Television, and Glenn Chandler, pathologist-turned-writer, created a Glaswegian police detective named Jim Taggart, a creation that resulted in a world-wide successful television drama that lasted for twenty-seven years. Over the course of 110 stories the series, which followed the exploits of Maryhill CID, continued to win over viewers old and new despite major changes in the cast which caused most in the business to write it off. From the pilot broadcast, "Killer", to the final episode, the show presented more grizzly murders and plot twists than even the most ardent of fans can remember. Its film noir quality, along with the stunning setting of Glasgow, the second city of the empire, helped it remain a success even after the death of the titular character. The excellent cast, both past and present, have provided characters that have become much loved and remain in the hearts of fans even after their departure. This guide is dedicated to the memories of Mark McManus, Iain Anders, Robert Robertson and Tom Watson.

Taggart was made by Scottish Television (later Scottish Media Group) Productions and broadcast on the ITV network across the UK. In 2010, with ITV assessing their output due to financial issues, the show was at risk of being cancelled. The two broadcasters agreed a co-production arrangement for the next series, which was broadcast first on STV, and later aired in the rest of the UK on ITV1. However, despite the new format and the series' continuing popularity in Scotland, viewing figures across the rest of the UK were disappointing, and ITV announced in May 2011 that it had decided not to commission any further series.


    Christmas Crackers 2009

  • Mark McManus

    Mark McManus

    Det. Chief Inspector Jim Taggart [ 1983 - 1995 ]

    James MacPherson

    James MacPherson

    D.C./D.S./D.I./D.C.I. Mike Jardine [ 1987 - 2002 ]

    Blythe Duff

    Blythe Duff

    WPC/DC/DS/DI Jackie Reid [ 1990 - 2010 ]

    John Michie

    John Michie

    DI Robbie Ross [ 1998 - 2010 ]

    Alex Norton

    Alex Norton

    DCI Matt Burke [ 2002 - 2010 ]

    More Info About This Show


    Drama, Suspense


    Crime, Murder & Mayhem