A Teen Wolf Community
Monday 10:00 PM on MTV - Music Television

Teen Wolf S03E06: "Motel California"

Except for the time I witnessed an animatronic animal band come alive and eat my stepdad, I love to be scared. I don't know what it is about the horror genre, but it really puts the the go-go juice in my scooter sometimes. Horror works differently for everybody: If your life is IRL scary, then scary movies can help exorcise that stress. If your life isn't scary at all, then scary movies can provide an experience necessary for emotional development. Most importantly, horror's got that push-pull, build-release pleasure explosion that—and I'm no brain doctor—mirrors laughter or sex or just the general sense of relief we all constantly crave. It's just fun! Obviously we are all unique snowflakes with personal preferences about what constitutes scariness, but for me the most terrifying things are the ones that are weird, abstract, unexplainable. I don't need explanations. I don't even need logic. In fact, I insist that those things stay home. I like my horror dreamy and hard to pin down. You can have your whodunnit slashers where everything's explained in the end by some detective or reporter; I want the ambiguity and loose ends of HalloweenHellraiserSuspiria. I don't need to know what's happening at all times, because that knowledge just makes things too understandable and hence less scary. I want to be confused. Confusion is scary! And so, therefore, was this week's episode of Teen Wolf.