That '70s Show

Season 1 Episode 23

Grandma's Dead

Aired Sunday 8:00 PM Jul 12, 1999 on FOX



  • Trivia

    • When Kitty, Red, and Laurie are eating, the eggs disappear from Laurie's plate when the camera cuts from her front to her side.

    • During the funeral, Red calls for the pastor to close Bernice's eyes. However, in the beginning of the episode, she dies with her eyes closed.

    • The music used in this episode was:
      (Don't Fear) The Reaper (1976) by Blue Oyster Cult;
      Ain't Nothin' But A Houseparty (1973) by J. Geils Band.

    • When Eric's Grandmother dies and falls on his shoulder she can be clearly seen blinking after she is supposed to be dead.

  • Quotes

    • Eric: You mess with Eric Forman, you mess with me.

    • Eric (to Grandma): I don't think being nice for a whole day would kill you!
      (Grandma falls over dead)

    • Fez: Mister Red, always remember: a mother's goodness is carried on forever by her sons.
      (Marty starts crying.)
      Red: Have you met my sister, Marty?

    • Hyde: Red, I'm sorry your mom died and I'm sorry Kelso's an idiot.

    • Jackie (to Red): I'm really sorry your mom died. It's like... sad and stuff.

    • Eric: I killed her. She was old, and the shock of her grandson telling her that she was nasty killed her.
      Donna: Have you talked to Red about this?
      Eric: I'm not talking to my dad about this. Do you remember how angry he got when I didn't rake the yard? And this is like, twice as bad!

    • (while looking into Grandma Forman's casket)
      Fez: Oh my God, there's a body in here!

  • Notes

    • The opening theme song is not played at the beginning of this episode; the cast names are shown during the opening teaser. There is no license plate showing the year in the opening credits, however, the end credits show the plate with a 1976 validation tag; this episode was production number 1-12, and intended to be shown earlier in the season.

  • Allusions

    • Kitty: I don't think you're really mad at Marty. I think you're just going through one of the five stages of dealing with death... denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance.

      Kitty is referring to the five stages of death or grief, made famous by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in her 1969 book On Death And Dying.

No results found.
No results found.
No results found.