The Academy Awards

Season 30 Episode 1

The 30th Annual Academy Awards

Aired Sunday 8:30 PM Mar 26, 1958 on ABC

Episode Recap

ACTOR • Marlon Brando -- Sayonara ("Major Lloyd Gruver") • Anthony Franciosa -- A Hatful of Rain ("Polo") • Alec Guinness -- The Bridge on the River Kwai ("Colonel Nicholson") • Charles Laughton -- Witness for the Prosecution ("Sir Wilfrid Robarts") • Anthony Quinn -- Wild Is the Wind ("Gino") ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLERed Buttons -- Sayonara ("Joe Kelly") • Vittorio De Sica -- A Farewell to Arms ("Major Alessandro Rinaldi") • Sessue Hayakawa -- The Bridge on the River Kwai ("Saito") • Arthur Kennedy -- Peyton Place ("Lucas Cross") • Russ Tamblyn -- Peyton Place ("Norman Page") ACTRESS • Deborah Kerr -- Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison ("Sister Angela") • Anna Magnani -- Wild Is the Wind ("Gioia") • Elizabeth Taylor -- Raintree County ("Susanna Drake") • Lana Turner -- Peyton Place ("Constance MacKenzie") • Joanne Woodward -- The Three Faces of Eve ("Eve White/Eve Black/Jane") ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE • Carolyn Jones -- The Bachelor Party ("The Existentialist") • Elsa Lanchester -- Witness for the Prosecution ("Miss Plimsoll") • Hope Lange -- Peyton Place ("Selena Cross") • Miyoshi Umeki -- Sayonara ("Katsumi") • Diane Varsi -- Peyton Place ("Allison MacKenzie") ART DIRECTIONFunny Face -- Art Direction: Hal Pereira, George W. Davis; Set Decoration: Sam Comer, Ray Moyer • Les Girls -- Art Direction: William A. Horning, Gene Allen; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Richard Pefferle • Pal Joey -- Art Direction: Walter Holscher; Set Decoration: William Kiernan, Louis Diage • Raintree County -- Art Direction: William A. Horning, Urie McCleary; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Hugh Hunt • Sayonara -- Art Direction: Ted Haworth; Set Decoration: Robert Priestley CINEMATOGRAPHYAn Affair to Remember -- Milton Krasner • The Bridge on the River Kwai -- Jack HildyardFunny Face -- Ray June • Peyton Place -- William Mellor • Sayonara -- Ellsworth Fredricks COSTUME DESIGNAn Affair to Remember -- Charles LeMaire • Funny Face -- Edith Head, Hubert de Givenchy • Les Girls -- Orry-KellyPal Joey -- Jean Louis • Raintree County -- Walter Plunkett DIRECTINGThe Bridge on the River Kwai -- David LeanPeyton Place -- Mark Robson • Sayonara -- Joshua Logan • 12 Angry Men -- Sidney Lumet • Witness for the Prosecution -- Billy Wilder DOCUMENTARY (Feature)Albert Schweitzer -- Jerome Hill, ProducerOn the Bowery -- Lionel Rogosin, Producer • Torero! -- Manuel Barbachano Ponce, Producer FILM EDITINGThe Bridge on the River Kwai -- Peter TaylorGunfight at the O.K. Corral -- Warren Low • Pal Joey -- Viola Lawrence, Jerome Thoms • Sayonara -- Arthur P. Schmidt, Philip W. Anderson • Witness for the Prosecution -- Daniel Mandell FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILMThe Devil Came at Night -- West Germany • Gates of Paris -- France • Mother India -- India • The Nights of Cabiria -- ItalyNine Lives -- Norway MUSIC (Scoring)An Affair to Remember -- Hugo Friedhofer • Boy on a Dolphin -- Hugo Friedhofer • The Bridge on the River Kwai -- Malcolm ArnoldPerri -- Paul Smith • Raintree County -- Johnny Green MUSIC (Song) • "An Affair To Remember" from An Affair to Remember -- Music by Harry Warren; Lyrics by Harold Adamson and Leo McCarey • "All The Way" from The Joker Is Wild -- Music by James Van Heusen; Lyrics by Sammy Cahn • "April Love" from April Love -- Music by Sammy Fain; Lyrics by Paul Francis Webster • "Tammy" from Tammy and the Bachelor -- Music and Lyrics by Ray Evans and Jay Livingston • "Wild Is the Wind" from Wild Is the Wind -- Music by Dimitri Tiomkin; Lyrics by Ned Washington BEST MOTION PICTUREThe Bridge on the River Kwai -- Sam Spiegel, ProducerPeyton Place -- Jerry Wald, Producer • Sayonara -- William Goetz, Producer • 12 Angry Men -- Henry Fonda and Reginald Rose, Producers • Witness for the Prosecution -- Arthur Hornblow, Jr., Producer SHORT SUBJECT (Cartoon)Birds Anonymous -- Edward Selzer, ProducerOne Droopy Knight -- William Hanna and Joseph Barbera, Producers • Tabasco Road -- Edward Selzer, Producer • Trees and Jamaica Daddy -- Stephen Bosustow, Producer • The Truth about Mother Goose -- Walt Disney, Producer SHORT SUBJECT (Live Action)A Chairy Tale -- Norman McLaren, Producer • City of Gold -- Tom Daly, Producer • Foothold on Antarctica -- James Carr, Producer • Portugal -- Ben Sharpsteen, Producer • The Wetback Hound -- Larry Lansburgh, Producer SOUND RECORDINGGunfight at the O.K. Corral -- Paramount Studio Sound Department, George Dutton, Sound Director • Les Girls -- Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio Sound Department, Dr. Wesley C. Miller, Sound Director • Pal Joey -- Columbia Studio Sound Department, John P. Livadary, Sound Director • Sayonara -- Warner Bros. Studio Sound Department, George Groves, Sound DirectorWitness for the Prosecution -- Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Department, Gordon E. Sawyer, Sound Director SPECIAL EFFECTSThe Enemy Below -- Audible Effects by Walter RossiThe Spirit of St. Louis -- Visual Effects by Louis Lichtenfield WRITING (Screenplay--based on material from another medium)The Bridge on the River Kwai -- Michael Wilson, Carl Foreman, Pierre BoulleHeaven Knows, Mr. Allison -- John Lee Mahin, John Huston • Peyton Place -- John Michael Hayes • Sayonara -- Paul Osborn • 12 Angry Men -- Reginald Rose WRITING (Story and Screenplay--written directly for the screen)Designing Woman -- George WellsFunny Face -- Leonard Gershe • Man of a Thousand Faces -- Story by Ralph Wheelwright; Screenplay by R. Wright Campbell, Ivan Goff, Ben Roberts • The Tin Star -- Story by Barney Slater, Joel Kane; Screenplay by Dudley Nichols • Vitelloni -- Story by Federico Fellini, Ennio Flaiano, Tullio Pinelli; Screenplay by Federico Fellini, Ennio Flaiano JEAN HERSHOLT HUMANITARIAN AWARDSamuel Goldwyn HONORARY AWARD • To Charles Brackett for outstanding service to the Academy. • To B.B. Kahane for distinguished service to the motion picture industry. • To Gilbert M. ("Broncho Billy") Anderson, motion picture pioneer, for his contributions to the development of motion pictures as entertainment. • To The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers for their contributions to the advancement of the motion picture industry. SCIENTIFIC OR TECHNICAL AWARD (Class I) • To the TODD-AO CORP. and WESTREX CORP. for developing a method of producing and exhibiting wide-film motion pictures known as the Todd-AO System. [Systems] • To THE MOTION PICTURE RESEARCH COUNCIL for the design and development of a high efficiency projection screen for drive-in theatres. [Projection] SCIENTIFIC OR TECHNICAL AWARD (Class II) • To the SOCIÉTÉ D'OPTIQUE ET DE MECANIQUE DE HAUTE PRECISION for the development of a high speed vari-focal photographic lens. [Lenses and Filters] • To HARLAN L. BAUMBACH, LORAND WARGO, HOWARD M. LITTLE and the UNICORN ENGINEERING CORP. for the development of an Automatic Printer Light Selector. [Laboratory] SCIENTIFIC OR TECHNICAL AWARD (Class III) • To CHARLES E. SUTTER, WILLIAM B. SMITH, PARAMOUNT PICTURES CORP. and GENERAL CABLE CORP. for the engineering and application to studio use of aluminum lightweight electrical cable and connectors. [Stage Operations]