The Academy Awards

Sunday 8:30 PM on ABC Premiered May 16, 1929 Special



User Score: 725

  • Season 85 Episode 85: The 85th Annual Academy A...

  • With Argo being nominated for Best Picture, George Clooney joins Warren Beatty as being the only two people to receive Oscar nominations for acting, writing, producing and directing.

  • Host Seth MacFarlane's repertoire was criticized by some viewers for being racist, antisemitic, homophobic and sexist (e.g. the song-and-dance tribute to female toplessness in cinema "We Saw Your Boobs"). Among the guests that evening, Steven Spielberg and Daniel Day-Lewis were both extremely offended by MacFarlane's John Wilkes Booth joke, but had agreed beforehand not to make a big deal out of it. Jane Fonda, who co-presented Best Director, later expressed similar sentiments on her blog that much of MacFarlane's humor was inappropriate for general audiences. MacFarlane tweeted two days later saying he enjoyed the experience, but that he would not want to host again.

  • Prior to the ceremony, an estimated 400 visual effects artists staged a protest on Hollywood Boulevard. The artists were protesting what they perceived to be the mistreatment of their industry by the studio system. The event that sparked the protest occurred when Rhythm & Hues visual effects studio, whose work would win the Oscar for Life of Pi, filed for bankruptcy in the weeks before the Oscars. The visual effects industry was also upset when the winners for Best Visual Effects were drowned out by the Jaws theme music and had their microphones shut off during their acceptance speech right as they began speaking about the controversy.

  • After Paperman won Best Animated Short Film, the film's producer Kristina Reed began to toss paper airplanes from her balcony seat in the theater's mezzanine level. The show's security briefly extracted Reed from the Theatre for the action.


  • Season 84 Episode 84: The 84th Annual Academy A...

  • At age 82, Best Actor in a Supporting Role winner Christopher Plummer became the oldest person to win a competitive Oscar.

  • Originally scheduled to have Eddie Murphy as host but with the departure of Brett Ratner on November 8th, 2011 as producer, Murphy opted out of doing the show the next day.

  • Season 82 Episode 1: The 82nd Annual Academy A...

  • The most nominated movies were Avatar and The Hurt Locker (9).

  • This was the first ceremony to have an animated movie nominated for "Best Picture" (Up) since The Beauty And The Beast was nominated in 1992.

  • This was the first ceremony to have more than one host since 1987.

  • The "Best Picture" nominees are now 10 instead of 5.

  • Season 81 Episode 1: The 81st Annual Academy A...

  • Songs from "The Musicals Are Back" number:
    -"Top Hat, White Tie And Tails" from Top Hat!.
    -"Singin' In the Rain" from Singin' In the Rain.
    -"Big Spender" from Sweet Charity.
    -"Maria" and "Somewhere" from West Side Story.
    -"You're The One That I Want" from Grease.
    -"How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria?" from The Sound Of Music.
    -"All That Jazz" from Chicago.
    -"Lady Marmalade" from Moulin Rouge.
    -"One Night Only" from Dreamgirls.
    -"You Can't Stop The Beat" from Hairpsray.
    -"At Last" from Orchestra Wives.
    -"Last Chance" from High School Musical 3: Senior Year.
    -"Mamma Mia!" from Mamma Mia!.
    -"Don't Cry For Me, Argentina" from Evita.
    -"Over The Rainbow from Wizard Of Oz.

  • Slumdog Millionaire is the first film since 1993 to win "Best Picture", "Best Directing" and "Best Screenplay" at not only the Oscars but also at the Golden Globes and BAFTAs.

  • The presenters of the acting awards were 5 past winners of each category, and they each gave a speech to each nominee (instead of the usual clips) about how good their performances were:

    *Best Actor In A Leading Role:
    -Michael Douglas (for Wall Street in 1988) to Frank Langella.
    -Robert DeNiro (for Raging Bull in 1980) to Sean Penn.
    -Adrien Brody (for The Pianist in 2002) to Richard Jenkins.
    -Sir Anthony Hopkins (for Silence Of The Lambs in 1991) to Brad Pitt.
    -Sir Ben Kingsley (for Ghandi in 1983) to Mickey Rourke.

    *Best Actress In A Leading Role:
    -Shirley MacLaine (for Tearms Of Endearment in 1983) to Anne Hathaway.
    -Marion Cotillard (for La Vie En Rose in 2008) to Kate Winslet.
    -Halle Berry (for Monster's Ball in 2002) to Melissa Leo.
    -Nicole Kidman (for The Hours in 2003) to Angelina Jolie.
    -Sophia Loren (for Two Women in 1961) to Meryl Streep.

    *Best Actor In A Supporting Role:
    -Alan Arkin (for Little Miss Sunshine in 2007) to Phillip Seymour Hoffman -Joel Grey (for Cabaret in 1972) to Josh Brolin.
    -Cuba Gooding Jr. (for Jerry Maguire in 1996) to Robert Downey Jr..
    -Christopher Walken (for The Deer Hunter in 1978) to Michael Shannon.
    -Kevin Kline (for A Fish Called Wanda in 1988) to Heath Ledger.

    *Best Actress In A Supporting Role:
    -Eva Marie Saint (for On The Waterfront in 1954) to Viola Davis.
    -Anjelica Houston (for Prizzi's Honor in 1985) to Penelope Cruz.
    -Whoopi Goldberg (for Ghost in 1990) to Amy Adams.
    -Goldie Hawn (for Cactus Flower in 1970) to Taraji P. Henson.
    -Tilda Swinton (for Michael Clayton in 2008) to Marisa Tomei.

  • Queen Latifah performed "I'll Be Seeing You" (from the musical play Right This Way) during the In Memoriam tribute. The honored people were:

    -Bernie Mac.
    -Charlton Heston.
    -Cyd Charisse.
    -Evelyn Keyes.
    -Harold Pinter (writer).
    -Isaac Hayes.
    -James Whitmore.
    -Mayla Nurmi.
    -Nina Foch.
    -Pat Hingle.
    -Paul Newman.
    -Paul Scofield.
    -Ricardo Montalban.
    -Richard Widmark.
    -Robert DoQui.
    -Roy Scheider.
    -Sydney Polack.
    -Van Johnson.
    -Abby Mann (writer).
    -Anthony Minghella (actor; director; producer; writer).
    -Bud Stone (executive).
    -Charles H. Joffe (producer).
    -Charles H. Schneer (producer).
    -Claude Berri (director).
    -David Watkin (director of photography).
    -J. Paul Huntsman (sound editor).
    -John Michael Hayes (writer).
    -Joseph H. Caracciolo (producer).
    -Jules Dassin (director).
    -Kon Ichikawa (director).
    -Leonard Rosenman (music composer).
    -Manny Farber (critic).
    -Michael Crichton, M.D. (director; producer; writer).
    -Ned Tanen (executive producer).
    -Ollie Johnston (animator).
    -Robert Mulligan (director).
    -Stan Winston (special effects).
    -Warren Cowan (publicist).

  • The most nominated movie was The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (13), but the most awarded movie was Slumdog Millionare (8).

  • Heath Ledger (The Dark Knight) is the second actor to win an award posthumous. The first was Peter Finch for Network in 1977.

  • All five Best Picture directors were nominated for Best Director, the first time this has occurred in 3 years.

  • Season 80 Episode 1: The 80th Annual Academy A...

  • Daniel Day-Lewis's second Oscar is the first time a non - American has won the "Best Actor" Oscar twice.

  • All four acting winners were not American (Tilda Swinton and Daniel Day-Lewis are British, Javier Bardem is Spanish and Marion Cotillard is French), this is the first time this has occurred since 1965.

  • Sound technician Kevin O'Connell earned his 20th nomination (Sound Mixing - Transformers) but has yet to win an Oscar, making him the person with the most nominations without an award.

1 2 3 4 5 6
No results found.
No results found.
No results found.

More Info About This Show


Arts, Events & Specials


Award Shows, Art & Artists