The Fall of Eagles

BBC (ended 1974)




User Rating
9 votes

By Users

Write A Review
The Fall of Eagles

Show Summary

Fall of Eagles was a 13-part British television drama aired by the BBC in 1974. Created by John Elliot and produced by Stuart Burge, the series portrays historical events, from 1848 to 1918, which deal with the ruling dynasties of Europe in Austria-Hungary, Germany and Russia. The series features an impressive case, including stand-out performances from Patrick Stewart as Lenin, Curt Jurgens as Bismarck and Freddie Jones as Count Witte, among several others. This ambitious series captivates the audience by depicting the years of revolution, in which the well cemented monarchies of central and eastern Europe slowly disintegrate. However, the show does not attach any sentiments with royalty or the happenings in wake of its collapse. The show was scripted by Keith Dewhurst, John Elliot, Trevor Griffiths, Elizabeth Holford, Ken Hughes, Troy Kennedy Martin, Robert Muller, Jack Pulman, David Turner and Hugh Whitemore. The show was subsequently released on video and DVD in 2004 in the United Kingdom, with further details on the historical events and characters in the series.