The Hardy Boys (1969)

ABC (ended 1971)


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
13 votes

By Users

Write A Review
The Hardy Boys (1969)

Show Summary

The Hardy Boys (1969) was a Saturday morning cartoon show that ran on ABC from 1969 to 1971. The cartoon was made by Filmation Studios. The Hardy Boys originally came from mystery books written by Franklin W. Dixon (real name, Edward L. Stratemeyer). In this cartoon series, The Hardy Boys were a bubblegum rock group who got involved in many adventures solving different mysteries that came their way. The show evolved around teenagers Frank and Joe Hardy and also their friends Pete Jones (the first black character on a Saturday morning cartoon show), Wanda Kay Breckenridge, and Chubby Morton. As the musical group, The Hardy Boys Plus Three, the group performed a musical number each week. The live-action group, who sang the songs (and who also performed the opening and closing themes as a live-action group), had minor success as a rock group recording 2 albums. The cast of the cartoon series also did a 30 second Public Service Announcement at the end of the show (the first Saturday morning cartoon show in which the actual cast members from the show did the Public Service Announcements on their own show). In the late 70's, The Hardy Boys become a live-action TV series called "The Hardy Boys Mysteries" with Shawn Cassidy and Parker Stevenson.

Dal McKennon

Dal McKennon

Joe Hardy, Chubby Morton

Jane Webb

Jane Webb

Wanda Kaye Breckendridge, Aunt Gertrude Hardy

Byron Kane

Byron Kane

Frank Hardy, Fenton Hardy, Pete Jones

More Info About This Show