The Labours of Erica

ITV (ended 1990)


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
6 votes

By Users

Write A Review
The Labours of Erica

Show Summary

The Labours of Erica is a British serial sitcom written by Richard Fegen and Andrew Norriss. It was first broadcast on ITV, a British commercial public service TV network, in 1989, and it aired for two seasons. The sitcom revolves around the life of Erica Parsons (Brenda Blethyn), a 39-year-old self-made businesswoman and single mother with a 14-year-old son (Paul Spurrier), who starts to feel like she has not achieved anything worthwhile in her life. When Erica finds her long-lost teenage diary, she reads a page in it entitled "'Twelve things I am going to do before I turn 40" and realizes that she has not done any of the things on the list. With only three months left under she turns 40, Eric becomes determined to live out some of her childhood dreams before it is too late, and each episode of the sitcom sees Erica undertake a different activity from the list.