The Muppet Show

Season 1 Episode 6

Ruth Buzzi

Aired Unknown Oct 11, 1976 on



  • Trivia

    • Most Muppet guitar players are left handed because most puppeteers were right handed. Their right hands were working the character's mouths while the left hand was available for the strumming.

    • The Talking Houses were originally created for Federal Housing Administration commercials.

    • Miss Piggy's necklace is there to help hide the joint between her head and body.

    • The Muppet Theater is inspired by a traditional English music hall.

    • Note that the Muppet Newsman isn't wearing any glasses.

    • The Band Members of The Electric Mayhem: Dr. Teeth (keyboard), Sgt. Floyd Pepper (bass), Zoot (sax), Animal (drums), and Janice (left handed guitar and tamborine).

    • At the very end, when the Muppets start to tickle Ruth, keep an eye out for a Muppet the looks like a beach ball pop up for a brief moment towards the bottom center of the screen.

    • After the talk spot, we can see Jim's head bobbing up and down performing Waldorf.

  • Quotes

    • Kermit: Scooter, where'd you get this ridiculous wind-up TV show host?!
      Robot Kermit: I was a gift from his uncle.
      Kermit: Welcome to the show.

  • Notes

  • Allusions

    • "You Can't Roller Skate in a Buffalo Herd" was written by Roger Miller. He will sing it in season 3.

    • "I Never Harmed an Onion" was written by Alan Grey, Joan Ginger Grey, and Moe Jaffe. It was recorded by Steve Allen. Rowlf also recorded it for his album "Ol' Brown Ears is Back."

    • "Can't Take my Eyes Off of You" was written by Bob Crewe and Bob Gaudio. It was a big hit for Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons.

    • "Row Row Row" was written by William Jerome and James V. Monaco. Wayne and Wanda actually made it to the chorus. The song would be used again in Elke Sommer's Cleopatra in season 3.

    • Kermit's mirror sketch is like the routine from the Marx Brother's Film "Duck Soup."

    • Floyd's costume, name, and design are inspired by The Beatles album "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band."