The NFL Today

Sunday 12:00 PM on CBS Premiered Sep 05, 1960 In Season




User Rating
87 votes

By Users

Write A Review
The NFL Today

Show Summary

CBS pioneered the NFL pregame called The NFL Today, which orginally included Brent Musburger, Phylis George, Jimmy "The Greek" Snyder, Irv Cross and has went on to be a Emmy Award-winning show that has set the standard for many shows to follow. It started in the mid 1960's when the Super Bowl first came to exist, and it has continued on for the next 38 years, until CBS lost their rights to the NFL after the 1993 season to FOX. The NFL Today returned in 1998 with the AFC Package this time, and a cast consisting of Jim Nantz, Mike Ditka, Craig James, Randy Cross, and Jerry Glanville. Over the years, other former players have been a part of the show, including Dan Marino, Deion Sanders, Shannon Sharpe, Boomer Esiason, and the newest member of the show, joining in 2007, former head coach Bill Cowher. To this day it is a valuable resource to NFL fans to keep up with news on the latest NFL games and players and predictions on Sunday's outcomes. Many hosts have past, including Brent, Greg Gumbel, Jim Nantz, and now the modern-day version is hosted by James Brown and features anaylsis from Dan Marino, Shannon Sharpe and Boomer Esiason, who regularly make selections for the day's games on the show. The NFL Today also takes viewers out to their regional NFL game before any other network, with "First on the Field." The show has other segments, including "Football Faceoff" and "Chalk Talk", which were implimented in the 2006 season.moreless

Previously Aired Episode

AIRED ON 1/18/2015

Season 36 : Episode 21