The Private Life of a Masterpiece

Saturday 8:10 PM on BBC Two Premiered Apr 01, 2004 Between Seasons


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
8 votes

By Users

Write A Review
The Private Life of a Masterpiece

Show Summary

The Private Life of a Masterpiece is a 2004 television series from the BBC network. It is an art documentary series that focuses on a different art masterpiece every episode. During each episode, a great work of art is chosen, and art critics and art historians present facts about the piece and tell its history. The art historians present the piece of art in a way that is relatable to everyone. Each episode also includes reenactments of the artist creating the piece of art, and gives a brief history of the artist's life in order to put the piece of art in context. The pieces that are presented are chosen by a group of art critics and historians and are often hailed as being some of the greatest masterpieces in the art world. Some of the pieces that are featured include Edvard Munch's "The Scream" and Michelangelo's "David." This show captivates its audience by being both educational and dramatic. The show lasted for 29 episodes and each episode is 50 minutes long.


Previously Aired Episode

AIRED ON 4/2/2005

Season 2 : Episode 1