A The X-Files Community
FOX (ended 2018)
Yes, this is X-Files related. Why? I'll get to that below.

For those who didn't know him, which is almost everyone, Jeffrey Grant Rice was born in 1942 in Providence, Rhode Island. A reporter and writer by trade, he made his way to Las Vegas and did a lot of reporting on the city and state government there. In 1970, Rice decided to turn his experiences into a novel combining horror, reporter movies like The Front Page, and modern-day government conspiracy cover-ups.

The result was The Kolchak Papers, which he typed up and mailed to himself, meeting copyright requirements of the time. Then the ABC network picked it up and hired Richard Matheson to write a teleplay that resulted in what was at the time its highest-rated TV movie: The Night Stalker (1972). Dan Curtis directed it, and Darren McGavin took on the role of Carl Kolchak, making it his own. Kolchak went after a vampire, Janos Skorzeny (Barry Atwater: Surak on the original Star Trek), who decided to set up shop in Las Vegas. No one is able to deal with Skorzeny, mostly because no one can accept that he is a vampire. Kolchak, a hard-boiled reporter, eventually realizes the truth, stakes Skorzeny, and is run out of town for his efforts.

Rice wrote a novelization of the movie, from Matheson's teleplay, which was based on Rice's original Kolchak Papers.

ABC immediately hired Matheson to make a sequel, The Night Strangler. However, they managed to forget that Rice had created the character and needed his permission. Rice had to forcefully "remind" them, and while he wasn't involved in the 1973 movie, he did write The Night Strangler from Matheson's TV script.