An Under the Dome Community
Monday 10:00 PM on CBS

Under the Dome S01E02: "The Fire"

Remember the pilot for Under the Dome? That was pretty good, wasn't it? There was this dome thing, and then trucks and planes crashed into it and exploded and blackbirds broke their hollow bird neck vertebrae smacking into it. Not so much last night, though. I'm no television scientist, but there may be some correlation between the quality of an Under the Dome episode and how much dome-related destruction and death it contains, and last night's episode "The Fire" didn't have much of either. 

I know we can't expect every episode to feature trucks smashing into an impenetrable membrane and crunching like a soda can or farm animals being halved, but it's reasonable to expect more of an appropriate reaction from the people trapped under the dome. Everyone in Chester's Mill seems to be pretty calm and cool about their new terrarium except Policeman Paul, and when he delivered the obvious truth—"It's not going to be okay! This thing [editor's note: the "thing" he's talking about is the dome] is never going to go away and we're all going to die!"—all of a sudden he's the crazy one? Okay maybe he's the crazy one for firing off a couple rounds at the dome, I'll give you that, but there's more than a kernel of truth to what he's saying and if everyone else freaked out like he did, we'd have ourselves a more entertaining show. This is only the second day of Domedom, after all, so being trapped like a wasp at a picnic should still be fresh in people's minds.