More about Peter Gabel's Harvard Lampoon title of Ibis (Vice-President): The three literary offices of the Harvard Lampoon are Narthex, Ibis and President. In addition to being a Lampoon symbol, an ibis is also a stork-like wading bird, and there is an ibis replica atop the Lampoon building at 44 Bow Street, Cambridge, Massachusetts. The Egyptian bird sits as part of the weathervane atop the Castle, which is the name for the famous castle-like structure which was built in 1909 for the Lampoon by William Randolph Hearst. It was designed by one of the Lampoon's founders, Edmund March Wheelwright. Only the editorial officers, staff and their guests are allowed inside the building. - Suzanne (2004)
Lampoon Castle History - The Castle - From a web archive of the Lampoon site:
One of the more eye-catching aspects of the Lampoon is its castle. Designed by Lampoon co-founder Edmund March Wheelwright, the Lampoon building stands as a bastion of humor and witticism in the middle of what would otherwise be an utterly drab and coldly practical street. In fact, it is rumored that the topside of every brick of the castle is inscribed with a different joke penned by Wheelwright himself - one of which is said to be so violently inappropriate that should the castle ever be torn down, Cambridge society women would request voting rights.
The castle was constructed in 1909 through the patronage of former editor and Harvard drop-out William Randolf Hearst and friend and patron Isabella Stuart Gardner. Once construction of the castle was completed, its doors were immediately closed to the public and all construction workers involved in the project were shot or lobotomized to keep the castle's contents a secret. Until recently, the only people to have seen the inside of the castle were Lampoon editors, their guests and a few criminals that broke in to steal things. Today, walk-in tours are available to the public for a low price of several million dollars.