What's My Line? Forums

CBS (ended 1967)

WML Fans That Cant' Get Enough

KommissarX

[1]Jan 20, 2008
    • level: 6

Does anyone know if any of the What's My Line radio shows survived? The regulars were all there - John, Arlene, Bennett, Dorothy along with Hal Block.It ran from December 3rd 1952 until July 1st 1953. It would be wonderful to hear some of the radio mystery guests which included Marlene Dietrich and Marlon Brando. I'm sure the radio show was done from the same set as the TVshow. Now that would be nice to drive down the road and be able to listen to "new" What's My Line material.

And as far as the few so called damaged WML TV shows that were allegedly destroyed during the WML reunion show, there remains a lot of questions. As a film editor myself for 30 years, this story doesn't make much sense. Sure, you can damage a film while editing but it is unlikely you would destroy the whole episode. Sounds like the film broke and the editor didn't want to fool with it and threw the whole thing away. I hope this is not the case. If so, the remainder of these "lost" shows can be repaired. That is if someone at the network didn't toss them in the garbage in the 70s when they were working on the anniversary show. Let's hope not. In any case, where are these films? They need to be repaired if they still exist. Just labeling them "lost" without explanation is disturbing. Sounds like someone just doesn't want to fool with them.

Edited on 01/20/2008 10:05pm
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.

ClassicTV

[2]Jan 20, 2008
    • level: 2

I've had my eye out for the radio version of WML? for a long time, but I've never seen it offered on any old-time radio site or in public domain.