Many of you say you can't delete it but on the help site they say you can:
Can I delete my account?
Yes, but with a caveat. The profile will remain on the site even if the user is unable to log in.
and on this too:
10. Site Access; Account Deletion
If you do not agree to these Terms, you should immediately stop using the Services. If you want to delete your account on a Service, please use contact instructions posted on the Service at which you obtained the account. Any User Submissions you made while using the Services will continue to be governed by Section 6 of these Terms.