TV.com will be making some changes to our user base starting Feb 25, 2015. For more information click here

Forums: User to User Help: Hints & Tips: Hyperlinks, XHTML and BBCode: A basic guide (updated 3/30/08)

 
  • Avatar of agent_0042

    agent_0042

    [21]Oct 25, 2007
    • member since: 04/24/05
    • level: 66
    • rank: Hollywood Square
    • posts: 10,895
    I would just like to add the following three items:

    - TV.com carries XHTML's requirement of closing tags in the order you opened them. It may not even occur to those who haven't used HTML in the past that you can't do it another way, but in the past, plain old HTML let you close them in any order. What I mean is, if you were to some reason post a link using bold, then italic, then the code for the link itself, you need to type closing for the link first, then the italic, then the bold. The old way, you could have closed the bold, then the link then the italic and it still would have been alright, but not anymore.

    Here's an example of correct coding:

    Code:
    <a href="http://www.tv.com"><i><b>TV.com</b></i></a>


    The system won't let me display an example of incorrect coding, even if it's enclosed in the "CODE" tag.

    - TV.com forums used to support formatting tags such as italics and bold using BBCode style. However, it no longer lets you do that, when mixing BBCode and XHTML on the forums, make sure you don't try to type anything that's HTML, such as bold or italics, as if it were BBCode.

    - The "CODE" tag for displaying code without it being formatted only works if placed in square brackets and only if you type it in all uppercase currently.
    Edited on 10/25/2007 2:43pm
    Edited 2 total times.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of Darkknight313

    Darkknight313

    [22]Nov 29, 2007
    • member since: 11/19/07
    • level: 28
    • rank: Disco Stu
    • posts: 3,119
    I have a question how do you post a link?
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of more_ncis_now

    more_ncis_now

    [23]Nov 29, 2007
    • member since: 01/29/06
    • level: 58
    • rank: Dead Parrot
    • posts: 9,266
    See the blue box within the first post under the "Creating Hyperlinks" heading.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of Darkknight313

    Darkknight313

    [25]Nov 29, 2007
    • member since: 11/19/07
    • level: 28
    • rank: Disco Stu
    • posts: 3,119
    more_ncis_now wrote:
    See the blue box within the first post under the "Creating Hyperlinks" heading.
    I did and it didn't work please tell me in a easy way.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of 123home123

    123home123

    [26]Nov 29, 2007
    • member since: 05/24/02
    • level: 55
    • rank: Bounty Dog
    • posts: 11,760
    There is no easier way. If you don't understand the basics of HTML/XHTML, you could always try the free online course at W3schools.com.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of more_ncis_now

    more_ncis_now

    [27]Nov 30, 2007
    • member since: 01/29/06
    • level: 58
    • rank: Dead Parrot
    • posts: 9,266
    Darkknight313 wrote:
    more_ncis_now wrote:
    See the blue box within the first post under the "Creating Hyperlinks" heading.
    I did and it didn't work please tell me in a easy way.


    Ok, for a really really simple link you do the following:

    Code:
    [URL]your link goes here[/URL]


    That's the simplest link you can create other than just posting a URL!
    Edited on 11/30/2007 9:44am
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of The_White_Lotus

    The_White_Lotus

    [28]Dec 1, 2007
    • member since: 11/10/07
    • level: 4
    • rank: Thighmaster
    • posts: 282

    let me test

    google

    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of HumbleNewb

    HumbleNewb

    [29]Dec 1, 2007
    • member since: 11/03/07
    • level: 11
    • rank: Red Shirted Lt.
    • posts: 2,665

    I hope you don't mind me testing out the "pre" tags here. I'm making a list in another forum and I want to see if I can do this before I mess up royally.

    Bear Naked granola Organic cereal Organic milk

    Natural peanut butter Organic bread Fruits & Veggies

    Drinking water Active lifestyle Reading books

    I hope this worked!

    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of agent_0042

    agent_0042

    [30]Dec 1, 2007
    • member since: 04/24/05
    • level: 66
    • rank: Hollywood Square
    • posts: 10,895
    Perhaps TV.com needs a "sandbox" area - a place designated for users to test and try things out...
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of LanaG79

    LanaG79

    [31]Dec 3, 2007
    • member since: 11/19/07
    • level: 6
    • rank: Small Wonder
    • posts: 318
    Why do you have to be at level 3 to post clickable links? It inconveniences everyone when you can't post a link properly.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of 123home123

    123home123

    [32]Mar 30, 2008
    • member since: 05/24/02
    • level: 55
    • rank: Bounty Dog
    • posts: 11,760
    I've updated the first message post with info on how to use the QUOTE tags.

    BBCode also seems to be working in forum posts again.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of count-chocula

    count-chocula

    [33]Apr 3, 2008
    • member since: 07/20/06
    • level: 47
    • rank: A-Teamer
    • posts: 1,224
    Can I just ask something. I've seen this pice of XHTML pop up a lot:

    (em)Show name(/em)

    But with brackets in place of () brackets. What does this actually do?
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of more_ncis_now

    more_ncis_now

    [34]Apr 3, 2008
    • member since: 01/29/06
    • level: 58
    • rank: Dead Parrot
    • posts: 9,266
    It italicizes whatever is between the em tags - it does the same as the italics tags shown in point 2 of 123home123's original post.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of 123home123

    123home123

    [35]Apr 5, 2008
    • member since: 05/24/02
    • level: 55
    • rank: Bounty Dog
    • posts: 11,760
    I included the "em" tags in the paragraph on italics tags in the original post. However, I only provided an example of the "i" tags.
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of DBizTV

    DBizTV

    [36]Jan 3, 2009
    • member since: 02/14/07
    • level: 43
    • rank: K.I.T.T
    • posts: 382

    agent_0042 wrote:
    Perhaps TV.com needs a "sandbox" area - a place designated for users to test and try things out...

    Since the Preview feature vanished from many submission forms, the only remaining "sandbox" I'm aware of is pm's. Start a new pm, leaving the subject and, or recipient blank for safety. Type in the code you're testing and click Preview …

    If you aren't comfortable with that, simply send yourself a pm and you can test most results that way. When finished, delete the pm so as not to clog up the system with old stuff. It's been so long since agent 0042's post that I don't know if this will help anyone, but ...

    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of 123home123

    123home123

    [37]Feb 14, 2010
    • member since: 05/24/02
    • level: 55
    • rank: Bounty Dog
    • posts: 11,760
    Does the "pre" tag no longer work on this site?
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of telvisnostic

    telvisnostic

    [38]Feb 25, 2010
    • member since: 06/27/05
    • level: 52
    • rank: Guzzlefish
    • posts: 25,288

    I tried posting a link today and it didn't show up.


    I use the FireFox BBCode and XHTML extensions.

    Edited on 02/25/2010 2:33pm
    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.
  • Avatar of jrsgalaxy

    jrsgalaxy

    [39]Jun 29, 2010
    • member since: 01/30/07
    • level: 14
    • rank: Autobot
    • posts: 1,676

    So to type something in bold would I use < first, then the word strong? bold

    You must be registered and logged in to post a message.